Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Telescope Specific Forums >> Celestron NexStar

Pages: 1
Les Wilson

Reged: 03/03/13

Pulling The Trigger On A 8SE
      #5712270 - 03/04/13 10:48 AM

Hello all! I have been researching the Celestron 8SE for a few months now and am about ready to finalize my decision and pay the piper. Anyway, after reading extensively about this scope here on CN and other forums, I have 3 questions that I would like to ask.
(1) The price seems to be fixed at the $1,199.00 mark with all of the vendors that carry this scope. Does if ever go on sale and if so where?
(2) Not having owned a GoTo scope (my other scope is a Z12 Dob modded with setting circles and digital inclinometer for Push To), can you use this scope in a Push To manner using star hopping and not using the electrical motors to move the scope? My interest is in logging Messier objects and such where Go-To is not allowed for the award given for viewing the objects.
(3) From what I have read, a dew shield will be necessary at a minimum and more likely a dew controller/heater. Not a problem given I am a DIY'er but from experience, do owners of this scope find that a heater installed on the outside of the front of the OTA is sufficent? If so, I am thinking that the nichrome wire would be more effective than a chained resistor based heater element. Other users thoughts/experiences here would be most appreciated.

By the way, this is going to be my "grab and go" and for use at home in a red zone. I leave the dob at my cottage in Coinjock and only get down there on weekends. With 6.3 mag skies, its my dark site but I want something to use at home and for outreach.

Thanks for reading this tome and I greatly appreciate any insight that more experienced members of might be able to provide.

Les

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
jturie

Reged: 11/19/12

Loc: Valley Forge, PA
Re: Pulling The Trigger On A 8SE new [Re: Les Wilson]