Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Mounts

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)
Ranger Tim
scholastic sledgehammer

Reged: 03/25/08

Loc: SE Idaho, USA
Replace GM-8 Gemini I w/ Atlas?
      #5718743 - 03/07/13 04:16 PM Attachment (54 downloads)

I have had my GM-8 for a couple years and have never really gotten it dialed in so that PHD can use my SSAG to track well. Perhaps I am too picky, but my tracking always has some stupid fault that results in a high failure rate. I am shooting with a Canon on an AT6RC, 50mm guide finder (SSAG). I am not a beginner and am sure there are some issues with flexure that I need to address, but I have reached a point where the Losmandy is just not giving me the results I had anticipated. I do not have the money for a G-11 and would rather just sell to reinvest in an Atlas. I could then also pick up a NexSX board for my Sphinx. Any advice from the braintrust? It has gotten to the point where I haven't got the patience to get out there and image because of the frustration. Will I encounter the same amount of grief by switching mount platforms? I believe the Atlas will carry the load better and will give me a fresh start.

My GM-8 is in great shape and has a fine record of excellent go to accuracy with the Gemini, it just refuses to behave well when guiding with PHD. I don't intend to go back down the rabbit hole diagnosing the guiding issues but want to hear some push-back from Losmandy zealots and some urgings from Atlas enthusiasts. Here is an example of my last shot for a reference of what the GM-8 accomplishes. It is agony to get two full hours of data with no footballs.