Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Refractors

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
PmCimini

Reged: 02/13/13

What can I see with a Meade 395??? new
      #5746409 - 03/20/13 10:06 PM

Hello,
This is my first post here, and forgive me if these questions are already answered elsewhere, but I have been lurking the forums for a few days now and this is still on my mind.
My name is Pedro, I'm an undergrad student from Brazil, and I recently inherited an old Meade 395 Refractor from my father... It's rain season here, but in the end of last year I went out a couple times to watch the sky. I live in a large city, so there is lots of light pollution around me and I have had only a few opportunities to do this.
Anyhow, I started this thread because I wanted to know what are the real capabilities and what can I really see with this scope. My father bought it in the 90's and never really got much use out of it. I have seen great views of Jupiter and Saturn these months, but I have grown an interest in DSO's and astrophotography. I know that astrophotography equipment tends to be really expensive, and this f/11 scope is not really suited for it (does not even have a motorized mount), but this is a future interest.
However, Jupiter and Saturn show up somewhat a bit blurry, but I guess that's how it is. I also saw M42, but it was very dim. Are there any other cool DSO's that I can see with this slow scope???

Thank you

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Stephen S
professor emeritus

Reged: 08/21/07

Loc: Evansville, IN
Re: What can I see with a Meade 395??? new [Re: PmCimini]
      #5746547 - 03/20/13 10:59 PM

Pedro,