Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Astrophotography and Sketching >> Beginning and Intermediate Imaging

Pages: 1
michael hester
professor emeritus

Reged: 11/28/08

Drift alignment with PHD and your laser pointer new
      #5422876 - 09/15/12 08:10 PM

Recently I started practicing drift alignment for my imaging setup and I've gotten fairly decent results. The biggest issue I had though was adjusting the azimuth on the mount. You have to hit a spot when adjusting that that is literally sub millimeter in order to get a good 5 minute graph. I found a way to help myself get that subtle movement for alignment and i'll share it below.

Tools:
PHD guiding
A 1 ft bungee cord
A small spring-loaded clamp to hold your laser pointer's button (home depot for $2)
your green laser pointer

Steps:
1. Do a rough polar alignment with All star polar alignment, your polar scope, or whatever you used to use.
2. Use the bungee cord to tightly strap your green laser pointer to your mount. You may have to wrap the bungee more than once. The laser should point at the ground behind your telescope. (to the south)
3. Set your mount to aim at the meridian at about the level of the equator. The mount's counterweight should be on the east side of the mount. Turn on your mount's tracking.
4. Calibrate PHD. You don't need to align your mount's computer yet, just calibrate phd. Turn on the graph.
5. Under the brain menu, once calibration is complete, stop phd's image loop, open the brain menu and check "disable guide output".
6. Start guiding on a star again and turn on the graph.