Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Refractors

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | (show all)
timmbottoni
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 08/25/05

Loc: W Chicago suburbs, IL USA
Re: Reflector/Refractor equivalence formula new [Re: Jon Isaacs]
      #5778698 - 04/04/13 10:15 PM

Hi Jon,
It's been a long time since I got my degree in Biology so I'm not going to try to explain it but the link below has a more readable explanation in the section titled "Optimum Magnification"

http://starizona.com/acb/basics/observing_theory.aspx

It's complex but this attempts to explain what you perceive and why. It's just not as simple as the way you stated it, but no worries, let your eyes tell you what is best for viewing based on your scopes aperture and focal ratio when viewing different types of objects.

I only brought it up in the discussion because it has to be considered if you are trying to compare reflectors of different sizes to refractors of different sizes because the human eye has to be taken into consideration, as some of the posts have pointed out here.

Theory is great, but what you actually see, and how you see it, is often a much more personal and practical experience. That is why some people will make comments about how a smaller high quality APO will appear better than a larger reflector or SCT. Their eye is the biggest factor that the theories aren't considering.

Timm

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
mgwhittle
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 08/24/11

Loc: Chattanooga, TN
Re: Reflector/Refractor equivalence formula new [Re: timmbottoni]
      #5778706 - 04/04/13 10:19 PM

Quote: