Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> Beginners Forum

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
FairObserver

Reged: 03/28/13

First Telescope
      #5765377 - 03/29/13 05:32 PM

Hello all. I'm a newbie here. I had an avid interest in astronomy as a kid and now that I'm older (61) I'm starting to regress back to being a kid. Thus I am avidly reading articles about purchasing one's first good telescope. Can anyone give me some advice on a decent telescope in the $300-$800 range that provides good views of planets and deeper space, and can grow with you to be adaptable for photography, computer drives, upgraded eyepieces, and other upgrades, if such an instrument exists? Thanks! FairObserver

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
SKYGZR
scholastic sledgehammer

Reged: 08/14/09

Loc: Planet Earth, Milky Way Galaxy...
Re: First Telescope new [Re: FairObserver]
      #5765409 - 03/29/13 05:50 PM

That's gonna be tough with 300-800

now 3000-8000..that's doable

StrangeDejavu
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 03/20/13

Loc: Florida
Re: First Telescope new [Re: SKYGZR]
      #5765423 - 03/29/13 05:59 PM

Hi FairObserver, welcome to CN.

Check out the XLT 120, I have the 102 model and absolutely love it. It's a point-and-go scope, near maintanence-free and easily customizable. They also don't require much cooldown time compared to a reflector type which can sometimes take 1-2 hours before it can be used.

http://www.celestron.com/astronomy/celestron-omni-xlt-120.html

Edited by StrangeDejavu (03/29/13 06:03 PM)

MikeBOKC
Post Laureate

Reged: 05/10/10

Loc: Oklahoma City, OK
      #5765435 - 03/29/13 06:03 PM