Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Astrophotography and Sketching >> CCD Imaging & Processing

Pages: 1
ccasal
sage

Reged: 05/11/09

Loc: San Juan, PR
M51 - Orion G3 Mono Tests new
      #5785439 - 04/08/13 08:40 AM Attachment (45 downloads)

Hi all,

I have been imaging with a DSLR for 4 years now and I am considering moving to a Mono CCD. While I decide on the camera to buy I bought an Orion G3 Mono CCD to start getting acquainted with monochrome imaging.

My DSLR has 6.4 micron pixels (1.32"/pixel) and the G3 has 8.6 micron pixels (1.77"/pixel).

This is a test of M51 using the G3 and I am finding I can go with longer subs than using the DSLR.

Is this related to the well depth of the G3, which is (50000)?

Resolution should be a bit better, compared to the DSLR, when I integrate color data to the image, even though pixels are bigger. Correct?

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated.

8 x 180s
Orion 10 F/3.9
Atlas EQ-G
Guiding Orion SSAG + Miniguider 50mm
Stacked in DSS and some processing in PS

Edited by ccasal (04/08/13 08:42 AM)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Raginar
Postmaster

Reged: 10/19/10

Loc: Rapid CIty, SD
Re: M51 - Orion G3 Mono Tests new [Re: ccasal]
      #5785510 - 04/08/13 09:32 AM

Carlos,

The CCD you purchased is really a fancy guide camera with cooling. That's about what I'd expect from it.

Your DSLR probably can go longer but it will suffer from more thermal issues.

ccasal
sage

Re: M51 - Orion G3 Mono Tests new [Re: Raginar]
      #5787803 - 04/09/13 10:53 AM

Hi Raginar,

I understand this is an entry level ccd, I am just using it to get acquainted with mono ccd imaging. I still deciding which ccd to move to. (currently contemplating moving to an Atik 460ex).

My questions are regarding well depth and resolution.

Is the well depth responsible for me being able to shoot longer exposures with the G3 than with the DSLR?

Or putting it another way: