Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Mounts

Pages: 1
bunyon
Post Laureate

Reged: 10/23/10

Loc: Winston-Salem, NC
PEC question, general and specific
      #5792002 - 04/11/13 09:36 AM

I've had my new AVX out a couple of times now as well as playing with it in the garage. Works great. I have no complaints at this point in regard to the mount.

However, I was looking at using PEC. As this is the first mount I've owned with PEC I'm not experienced. Reading the manual, it looks like one has to re-do PEC each time out. If you have to use an autoguider to do PEC, why not just let the autoguider guide through whatever PE there is?

I guess my general question is: how does PEC help where an autoguider is being used? My specific question is: is re-doing the PEC calculation each time unique to the AVX or is that in general how it is handled?

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Footbag
Post Laureate

Reged: 04/13/09

Loc: Scranton, PA
Re: PEC question, general and specific new [Re: bunyon]
      #5792009 - 04/11/13 09:45 AM

I don't know about re-doing the calibration every outing. I would think it would store the PEC curve and let you play it back whenever. I'm not sure on this, I never used it on my CPC. My Mach 1 has a curve stored.

I typically ignored PEC and let the autoguider guide out the PE. I think Craig Stark says there is nothing wrong using both PEC and autoguiding, but I'm not convinced there is any real benefit.

jrcrillyAdministrator
Refractor wienie no more

Reged: 04/30/03

Loc: NE Ohio
Re: PEC question, general and specific new [Re: Footbag]
      #5792029 - 04/11/13 09:59 AM