Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Cats & Casses

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | (show all)
UnderDriven

Reged: 04/22/13

Loc: Pennsylvania
Re: Why do some consider Hyperstar a 'crude' platform? new [Re: jrcrilly]
      #5819665 - 04/24/13 12:20 PM

I'm no expert on the HyperStar, but it seems fair to say that it is a "crude" system in the sense that it is a improvised system--meaning that the designers of SCTs never intended that a camera should replace the secondary mirror, and therefore did not take this into account when designing the corrector plate. However, that does not mean that it doesn't work--there have been many improvised systems which have worked well, or at least well enough to accomplish the intended task. As someone else mentioned, every telescope is a compromise...

The only non-improvised system I know of which is nearly as fast as HyperStar is a Takahashi hyperbolic astrograph for $5400. But the Takahashi aperture is only 180mm and it's pretty much a one-trick-pony. Part of the appeal of HyperStar is being able to reconfigure an F/10 telescope as an F/2 astrograph as needed, while spending a lot less than $5400...

Cheers, Keith

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
bilgebay
Post Laureate

Reged: 11/06/08

Loc: Turkiye - Istanbul and Marmari...
Re: Why do some consider Hyperstar a 'crude' platform? new [Re: Alph]
      #5819696 - 04/24/13 12:35 PM

Quote:

How about alignment? Do you expect everybody to go through the same process as you did?