Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Mounts

Pages: 1
mikeyL

Reged: 12/17/07

Choosing Between 3 Mount Options for AP
      #5863650 - 05/16/13 01:35 AM

So I have been doing AP on and off for a couple years by borrowing time on others' mounts when available. Now I finally have some money (about $2000 or so) to spend on my own mount. I will be starting out still shooting very wide field with camera lenses mostly (typically at 300mm), maybe quickly moving up to a small 6" class reflector. But I would like to be able to get a mout that can handle something as large as an Edge 9.25 w/ a Hyperstar at the top end of my required weight range in the future possibly. I absolutely want a GOTO mount.

I have done a lot of checking into both the iOptron iEQ45 and the Orion Atlas as I have friends that have each of those mounts. I have also imaged on a friend's Paramount ME and so I know how a top end mount behaves and I realize nothing in the realm of 2k will be able to approach that kind of performance. But I also need something that I can take to darker skies as my visibility at my house is severely limiting (can't even see Polaris...) I did have an Astrotrac of my own for a while but found the polar alignment and the searching for targets in the sky to be too frustrating and time consuming. Additionally I have a chance at buying a used G11/Gemini I mount at about the $2200 price point, with shipping added on to that (shipped from East Coast to CO - not going to be cheap...) Unfortunately I haven't had the opportunity to do anything with a G11 yet.