Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Equipment

Pages: 1
hvoght

Reged: 06/16/13

Is this Meade EXT-125EC worth it? new
      #5923530 - 06/16/13 10:42 AM

Hey gents,

I'm new to the game and am looking to get my first tele. I have a small bit of experience going out and viewing with a couple of friends, but otherwise I'm green. This popped up on my local CL and I was wondering what you guys thought about it. Deal? Too much?

http://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/spo/3848480405.html

My budget is around 1K, give or take.

Thanks in advance for your insight!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
gonzosc1
sage

Reged: 11/08/12

Loc: South Carolina
Re: Is this Meade EXT-125EC worth it? new [Re: hvoght]
      #5923571 - 06/16/13 11:12 AM

that would be a great starter package. The 125 was my first scope and I loved it for what it was. I think that the price is a bit high at $650. these go for around $400-$500 on ebay everyday.
I'd offer $600 for the scope package and eyepeice package together as one package. just the scope,, $450-$500

also check to see if scope has been modded in any way! back in the day when this scope was all the rage there was a web site just for the 125 and it has all kinds of mods and improvements that you can do to the scope the improve the preformance of the scope. the site is still active and you should check it out if you get the scope.
link
http://www.weasner.com/etx/menu.html

Raginar
Post Laureate

Reged: 10/19/10

Loc: Rapid CIty, SD
Re: Is this Meade EXT-125EC worth it? new [Re: gonzosc1]
      #5923580 - 06/16/13 11:19 AM