Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Astrophotography and Sketching >> Beginning and Intermediate Imaging

Pages: 1
bayleyjordan

Reged: 04/09/13

Help me pick a guiding package
      #5934919 - 06/22/13 04:23 PM

I have been imaging for several months now on an AVX mount with an 8" SCT, unguided. From everything I read on these forums, many of you say unguided imaging isn't worth it. I wanted to really get a good feel for my mount and it's capabilities before starting to guide, and have improved my alignment techniques enough so that I am regularly getting round stars on 2 - 2.5 minute exposures, and have been pretty pleased with the results.

However, I feel like I am getting close to maxing out my abilities without guiding, and would like to take the plunge. I'm prepared to do my own research, but figured I would ask on here first, what are my best, affordable options for guiding with my current setup? 50mm guidescope and SSAG? Would I need a focal reducer with that setup? or should i go 80mm guidescope?

I would just like a quick rundown of what equipment you think I should be looking at so I can do my research and get a good setup. Thanks in advance!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
bayleyjordan

Re: Help me pick a guiding package new [Re: bayleyjordan]
      #5934922 - 06/22/13 04:25 PM

Oh and if this is in the wrong forum, let me know, I just saw the "Equipment" forum. Thanks!

bouffetout
scholastic sledgehammer

Reged: 11/21/12

Loc: Canada
      #5934969 - 06/22/13 04:43 PM

I have a 8SE on a HEQ5 mount. When doing astrophotography ,we should put on our mount about 50% of the maximum payload.