Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Observing >> Solar Observing and Imaging

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
KJL

Reged: 06/07/12

Loc: Boston, MA
90mm APO + Herschel wedge vs C6 SCT + Baader film
      #5961830 - 07/09/13 08:41 AM

I've been debating whether to purchase a 1.25" Lunt Herschel wedge as an upgrade to the Baader solar film I already use with my 90mm f/7 APO (SVR90T). I want to see more granulation more clearly! Also I could use it between my other refractors (80mm and 50mm APO). The twist here is that I also own a C6 XLT SCT, but have not purchased Baader film for it yet.

Would a top-flight 90mm APO with Herschel wedge return superior overall results (contrast + resolution) over a C6 SCT with Baader film?

My money is on the C6 + Baader film, but I've never used a Herschel before. I hear they are swell, but find it hard to believe the difference could make up for the presumably great difference in resolution.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
brianb11213
Postmaster

Reged: 02/25/09

Loc: 55.215N 6.554W
Re: 90mm APO + Herschel wedge vs C6 SCT + Baader film new [Re: KJL]
      #5961992 - 07/09/13 10:52 AM

Quote:

Would a top-flight 90mm APO with Herschel wedge return superior overall results (contrast + resolution) over a C6 SCT with Baader film?

My guess is, yes it would, but mostly because the thermal design of the C6 tube really isn't adequate for an environment being pasted with strong sunshine. If you have a really effective insulation system for the tube, or a well ventilated slitted observatory & helpful terrain to the south, the C6 may work better.

With the same scope (mine is a WO FLT 110) the wedge is marginally better than Baader solar film for contrast, very marginally better for resolution when used visually. The big difference is for imaging - the wedge allows much better control of filtration, allowing shorter exposures which enables performance to be maintained into much worse seeing.