Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> General Observing and Astronomy

Pages: 1
Jersey Star Man
sage

Reged: 05/08/10

Loc: Seaville, New Jersey
Aruba Skies new
      #5289024 - 06/25/12 07:49 PM

My daughter (12 yrs old) and I spent a few nights last week looking at the sky searching for our summer favorites. Summer Triangle, Lyra, Cygnus, Big dipper etc... No scope just hanging out looking. It was great fun....
This week my wife and another mom are in Aruba with all the kids. my daughter was talking to me on Skype and was telling me the night sky looks different there... I am no expert by any means and was wondering how different it could look? I would love for her to see something we can't see here in NJ. Anybody have any ideas of things to see or differences she could take note of? She would think she was the cats meow talking about the skies in Aruba to her science teacher this fall... Thanks for any help you could offer!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Fuzzyguy
sage

Reged: 12/21/11

Loc: Colorado/Kansas
Re: Aruba Skies new [Re: Jersey Star Man]
      #5289128 - 06/25/12 08:47 PM

Aruba should be far enough south for her to see some of the southern constellations and DSOs you can't see from New Jersey like the Southern Cross and the Magellanic Clouds to name a couple. Don't know what's up down there right now though. What a great place to see things she can't see at home!

Tony Flanders
Postmaster

Reged: 05/18/06

Loc: Cambridge, MA, USA
      #5289197 - 06/25/12 09:31 PM