Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> Light Pollution

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
krp
Vendor. DarkSiteFinder.com

Reged: 11/10/10

Loc: Central Illinois
Introducing DarkSiteFinder.com
      #5983405 - 07/21/13 06:14 PM

Hi everyone.
I have a project that I have been working on for the past 2 months. My goal was to make the best website for light pollution maps.

DarkSiteFinder.com

I use light pollution data that has been around for awhile but most of it has never been combined with Google Maps before. All the maps on this site are full screen, searchable, and the overlay can be toggled on and off. There is a 15 color light pollution map of the United States from Dave Lorenz that some may find more useful than the 8 color.

Besides the US, light pollution data is now easily viewable for almost any place in the world. The data from the Light Pollution Science and Technology Institute has been available for years but I'm not aware of any other websites that made it all easily viewable.

Also on the site I included some links and information about how to reduce light pollution. I'm planning to have a section that will have an extensive list of observing sites. But that will remain under construction for awhile longer as I try to find a way to integrate some useful features.

Please let me know how you like the website and if you have any suggestions to make it better.

Edited by krp (07/21/13 06:30 PM)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
beatlejuice
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 04/05/11

Loc: Hamilton, ON,Canada
Re: Introducing DarkSiteFinder.com new [Re: krp]
      #5983775 - 07/21/13 10:44 PM