Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Astrophotography and Sketching >> DSLR & Digital Camera Astro Imaging & Processing

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
forestc

Reged: 11/29/12

Loc: Missoula, Montana
60Da vs. 5D Mark III
      #6005282 - 08/03/13 07:50 PM

Hey all,

I am just getting into astrophotography more seriously and I am looking for a camera that will offer plenty of room to grow with the hobby. Luckily, I have been a professional photographer for years and have plenty of access to equipment.

Here's my question: I am looking at selling some of my current camera equipment and either getting a 60Da or a 5D mark III. If the cost of either didn't matter, which would be better suited for taking images of DSO's.

I have a SNT telescope with an 8" mirror and a 1000mm focal length.

Thanks for your input,

Forest

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
fmhill
sage

Reged: 07/17/12

Loc: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Re: 60Da vs. 5D Mark III new [Re: forestc]
      #6005292 - 08/03/13 08:00 PM

My choice is the 60Da... I've had one for a year now and am very happy with it... I also have several Nikon DSLR and while they make great images with stock sensors, the 60Da sensor/internal filtering picks up enough Ha color to make more interesting DSO images...

Edited by fmhill (08/03/13 08:01 PM)

Falcon-
Post Laureate

Reged: 09/11/09

Loc: Gambier Island, BC, Canada
Re: 60Da vs. 5D Mark III new [Re: fmhill]
      #6005375 - 08/03/13 08:52 PM

Stock, as they come out of the box, the 60Da would be the better choice without a doubt.