Telescope Specific Forums >> Meade Computerized Telescopes

Pages: 1
Ed Sunder
sage

Reged: 12/11/07

Loc: Flintstone, GA
LXD75 motor problem new
      #3741502 - 04/12/10 10:03 PM

If the LXD series isn't supposed to be discussed here in this forum let me know...

I've been using my LXD75 mount for about 2 years now and it's been a champ - I've hypertuned it and then re-hypertuned it about 9 months ago and it's been working great. I generally do astrophotography and with the guidescope giving input commands it does a good job. Tonight, I decided to retrain the drives because it's been overcorrecting a bit with the backlash. However, like an idiot, instead of clicking on the train drives, I clicked on LXD55/75 adjust. The instructions on that are the same as on the train drives and so when I clicked okay, it started moving like crazy. I quickly clicked Mode to exit and it stopped. The scope didn't run into anything - it just moved about 90 degrees about as fast as it could. After that, the RA gear only moves in full speed. I can change the speed and the Dec gear changes, but RA is moving at Max, even when I turn on quiet slew. I ran calibrate drives I tried to train (but have you ever tried that when RA is on MAX?!). It can't park the scope - it can't do anything. If I let it run enough, it'll give me a motor fault (though again, I'm not letting it run into anything or put any undue stress on things). Turned it off and on - same problem every time.

I thought maybe the encoder wheel might have a spiderweb or something (we've had cloudy or windy weather for weeks, but of course I used it successfully for hours last night...), but the RA encoder wheel looks clean and straight - everything looks fine.