Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Cats & Casses

Pages: 1
booteswatcher
journeyman

Reged: 09/10/13

Loc: North Carolina
Questions about my new Meade LX 200 12"
      #6075853 - 09/11/13 08:52 PM

Hi...everyone.I posted this in the other LX 200 forum...70 views no help. Figured Id try here as I need help with this and don't want to do anything to damage my scope. I'm new to astronomy (less than 1 year). I started out with a Orion Skyview 4.5 reflector , and recently added a Celestron Omni 102 xlt and a Meade 12" Lx200ACF. I've only had the Meade out 3 times so I'm still learning.Any advice/help you guys can give me on the following is greatly appreciated.

1-Dew control....use a dew shield and/or the dew control bands and heater. Also do I need to add extra weights if I install the dew shield?

2-will turning the main focus knob too far either way cause any damage? My fiance did't realize dew had formed on the front corrector plate and was trying to focus it. Now it seems to not be as clear as it was.

3-water spots on the front corrector plate. When the dew dried it left a few spots. Is it necessary to clean them , if so what is the best/safest way or just leave them there.

4- I have stellarium on my 5 year old laptop. Is this the best for computer control of my scope or is there something better? What cables do I need to purchase to do this.

5- explain the mirror lock knob to me. Does it need to be lock or unlock when observing or transporting.

Sorry for all the questions at once but cooler weather is coming and Im looking forward to many nights with this scope.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator