Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Astrophotography and Sketching >> Beginning and Intermediate Imaging

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
orlyandico
Post Laureate

Reged: 08/10/09

Loc: Singapore
Re: New Telescope new [Re: rflinn68]
      #6118649 - 10/05/13 09:02 AM

I'm dubious about CCDInspector collimation readings.

It was reporting 6" last night on my AT8IN but there were obvious non-round stars in the image. What gives?

(and I can't use Metaguide as I don't have a compatible camera)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Madratter
Post Laureate

Reged: 01/14/13

#6118651 - 10/05/13 09:04 AM Attachment (5 downloads)

I'm no expert. I prefer the 3d plot although the one you show has more information. I think what it basically does is measure the shapes of stars throughout the frame including their elongation and FWHM values. Based on how those vary it then can estimate these other values. Reddish areas are where the field curvature strongly departs from the average. Blue is good. Black is best. Looking at your screenshot, it is telling me your best focus was about half way between the center and edge of the screen. Collimation is not REAL far off. If it was, it things would have happened with those crosses in the center. It indicates there is some tilt going on. You can also see that from the curvature. Notice that the Reddish areas are in the top corners and are about equal. Given that, not surprisingly, your Tilt is oriented almost straight up. The higher the percent, the worse it is. This stuff is all best estimated in fields with lots of stars. You had them.