Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Astrophotography and Sketching >> Beginning and Intermediate Imaging

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Stelios
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 10/04/03

Loc: West Hills, CA
Why do my stars vary from image to image? new
      #6120034 - 10/06/13 03:49 AM Attachment (26 downloads)

I am a beginner, so I expect to take lousy pics. But I don't understand why, in the same session (using Backyard EOS to take 18 consecutive lights) the shape of the stars varies from very elongated ones on one image (M57a1) to (for me) reasonable (M57b1). Nobody touched the scope, camera or laptop between those exposures. There was some light wind, but I doubt that could've done it. Most puzzling, the *better* image came later than the poor one.

Both are single 45-second light frames, Canon T3i unguided, ED80 on a CG-5 (ASPA-aligned).

Another question is--should I bother stacking images that different, or should I manually review them and edit out the ones with the elongated stars?

This is the one with the real bad stars, M57a1 (a crop of a larger image):

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Stelios
Carpal Tunnel

Re: Why do my stars vary from image to image? new [Re: Stelios]
      #6120035 - 10/06/13 03:50 AM Attachment (19 downloads)

... and this is the better one M57b1, about 10 frames later (no human intervention):

Maverick199
Postmaster

Reged: 02/27/11

Loc: India
      #6120037 - 10/06/13 03:52 AM