Astrophotography and Sketching >> Film Astrophotography

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
nodalpoint
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 06/03/13

Loc: FEMA camp
Re: Large format astrophotography new [Re: Nebhunter]
      #6152406 - 10/22/13 08:20 PM

Just noticed this thread. Kona, awesome work. Great to see you using your view camera. I've been thinking of throwing my 4x5 on my mount and having some fun.

I'm a professional myself with a fine arts background and know at least one well-known, highly regarded artist doing similar work who's widely exhibited and at the top of the food chain. Plus, a young artist I spoke with recently was inquiring about just the kind of thing you're doing in order to make images to use in combination with other work. So what you're doing is great and I want to see more!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Kona

Reged: 10/22/08

Re: Large format astrophotography new [Re: nodalpoint]
      #6156454 - 10/24/13 09:58 PM

Thanks kindly NodalPoint. Glad to hear my efforts have been of inspiration to you.

I also use my 4x5 camera for general photo work and landscapes (Ansel Adams type stuff, even the paper and chemistry) so I don't use the camera solely for astrophotography.

Who's this well known artist? It would be interesting to see what's being done on that level.

(Professional = actually getting paid for your work!)

gillmj24
Post Laureate

Reged: 12/06/05

Loc: PA
Re: Large format astrophotography new [Re: Kona]
      #6156538 - 10/24/13 10:53 PM

Thanks for your posts. I've gotten into medium and large format the last year or so though not yet for astro work. I have a Sinar C 4x5.

Kona

Re: Large format astrophotography [Re: gillmj24]
      #6159415 - 10/26/13 03:53 PM

Thank you Gillmj. Good to see folks interested in MF and LF!

Michal1
sage

Reged: 07/25/10

Loc: Czech Republic, Central Europe
      #6185228 - 11/09/13 06:35 PM

Another large format user. Wow!

Nightfly
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 06/20/07