Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Refractors

Pages: 1
Yamato

Reged: 07/17/13

Low price guiding scope? new
      #6174911 - 11/04/13 06:19 AM

Hi.

I'm new to astrophoto. Actually only interested in doubles and open clusters.

Well, the point here is that i'm going to buy a CCD camera for this task, but I realize that I would need a guiding scope, or at least a scope mounted "piggyback" the main scope to know if I'm pointing to the correct place in the sky. The "guiding" will be done visually, or even call it "aiming secondary scope".

Astrophoto will not be my main interest per-se, but I will use it as a tool for measuring and "recording" observations and such. I don't like to get beautiful astrophotographs.
So, I'm looking for a very low budget but funcional guiding/aiming scope.

I had in mind a very short tube, refractor-type, as light as possible, and even allowing me to grag&go it for fast observations when I don't want to carry my longish refractor. The main scope is a 100mm f/10 achromat over an EQ5 (this OTA is 3.5Kg).

So, I have been looking arround, and found these two cute scopes:

either the SkyWatcher Startravel 70/500 or the Startravel 80/400:

http://www.skywatcher.com/product.php?cat=3&id=7
(The scopes will be bought as OTA, don't take their mount into account)

Bresser, SkyWatcher or whatever brand, I don't mind at all.

The point is, the 70/500 is only 0.9 Kg (1.98 pounds) weight, which is really low weight, rising everything to barely 4.5 Kg, but this offers slightly less FOV.
And the 80/400 is 1.5 Kg (3.3 pounds) wich will rise the total weight to 5Kg, but this scope offers slightly more FOV.