Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> Beginners Forum

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Arpita

Reged: 11/18/13

Beginners Telescope
      #6202934 - 11/19/13 01:10 AM

Hello,
I am new to telescopes.
I want to gift a telescope to my husband who is an amateur celestial viewer.
I have shortlisted two telescopes.
Need your opinion for the same.
First one is from a local shop in INDIA, who has more than 20 years of experience in making telescopes.
The specs are as follows:
Diameter/Aperture: 76mm
Focal Length: 700mm
Optical Design Newtonian
Lens Material Glass
Diameter 76mm
Focal Length 700mm
Scondary Mirror Diameter 20mm
F/ratio F/9.2
Faintest Steller Magnitude 12
Resoving Power 1.5
Focuser diameter 1.25”
Eyepiece(s) 1.25” - 25mm and 9mm
Barlow Lens 3x Barlow
Mount Type Alt-Azimuth
Slow-motion Control Vertical Only
Accessory Tray Wall-to-wall
Tube Weight 1.76Kgs
Tube Dimension(dia. x length) 12.5cm x 68.5cm
Tripod Height 67-119cm
Shipping Weight 9 Kgs
233x Magnification
Aluminized and overcoated mirrors
Smooth rack-and-pinion 1.25" focuser
Perfect for all-around astronomical observing
18% more light gathering power than 70mm. Enough to allow simple study of star clusters and nebulas
http://www.galileotelescope.com/productsdetails.php?pro_id=89
Next one is
Celestron Powerseeker 70AZ.
http://www.celestron.com/astronomy/celestron-powerseeker-70az.html

Both have same price range in INDIA.
But weight for the first one is 9KG and for celeston is only 2.9Kg.

Can you guys please suggest which telescope I should buy.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Maverick199
Postmaster

Reged: 02/27/11

Loc: India