Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> Beginners Forum

Pages: 1
kirscovitch

Reged: 11/29/13

Loc: Antigo WI
Hello everyone from WI new
      #6224422 - 11/29/13 11:51 PM

Hello everyone.

I'm pretty new to astronomy. Purchased my first scope about a month ago. A Celestron Nexstar 130SLT. In the month I've had it I have discovered that there is a huge learning curve but am loving every minute of it! I've been able to get out viewing 3 times since I got the scope and sessions are limited due to the cold temps at night. I have been able to get some nice views of the moon and Jupiter as well as M45 and 42.

One thing that has kinda been bugging me the few times I have been out is the stock red dot finder. It's so flimsy it's hard to adjust it when aligning the scope. Any suggestions on an upgrade? I have heard some good things about a Rigel Quickfinder but am also kind of thinking of maybe a raci. Not to keen on the uncomfortable contortions that the red dots require.

Hello again and thanks in advance!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
jerwin
scholastic sledgehammer

Reged: 05/17/12

Loc: Romeoville IL
Re: Hello everyone from WI new [Re: kirscovitch]
      #6224464 - 11/30/13 12:42 AM

Hi, and welcome to cloudynights. the Rigel is very nice, as is the telrad, but if you want to keep from bending over the scope, you might think about something like this:

http://www.scopestuff.com/ss_sfind.htm

it attaches with double sided tape, that is a bit of a pain to remove if you every want to sell it, but that and a cheep laser pointer will let you shine a line to the sky without needing to bend over the scope.