Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> Beginners Forum

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
C_Moon
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 10/23/09

Loc: Beneath the arms of Cassiopeia
Re: Advice for a novice dad and astronomer new [Re: BigJustice]
      #6226255 - 12/01/13 01:15 AM

If you like to do research, get yourself a copy of The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (quite possibly from the library, although it is a good one to invest in). I'm an engineer who also "likes to do research" and I think it gives an excellent introduction to what the hobby is all about as well as how to navigate the numerous options when it comes to equipment. Plus, the authors are professionals who do not have an agenda.

That book was indispensable to me when I got started. Especially for setting my expectations and helping me get a plan.

Now is a good time to get going as Mars will soon be well placed for viewing (something that happens only every ~2 years). I had similar timing when I started and Mars was one of the early joys!

Good Luck!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
TexasRed
scholastic sledgehammer

Reged: 05/17/11

Loc: East Texas
Re: Advice for a novice dad and astronomer new [Re: C_Moon]
      #6226282 - 12/01/13 01:35 AM

Consider adding a decent pair of 10x50 binoculars to your shopping list. They'll deliver nice wide-field views a telescope won't have and be very helpful in finding things as you learn your way around the sky. You won't stop using them either. It's also fun to compare the views with your bare eyes, the binoculars and a telescope.

gene 4181
scholastic sledgehammer

Reged: 11/12/13

Loc: n.e. ohio