Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Observing >> Lunar Observing

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Scott Watson
professor emeritus

Reged: 05/26/06

Re: Lunar craters inverting illusion new [Re: photonovore]
      #3651676 - 02/27/10 08:48 PM

It isn't so much an optical illusion as an optical ambiguity. I studied this phenomenon in graduate school and found that if you take an image (like a crater) that can be interpreted as either concave or convex and you tell the subject that it is one of the other, they will usually interpret that way. If you don't tell them anything, they will usually interpret it as a crater. It seems we default to the most common interpretation from our previous experience.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Carol L

Reged: 07/05/04

Loc: Tomahawk, WI 45N//89W
Re: Lunar craters inverting illusion new [Re: Scott Watson]
      #3659341 - 03/03/10 10:47 PM

Here's another graphic which illustrates the "reversible perspective" illusion (great to see you again, Mardi!).
blister -vs- crater

They look like blisters until you turn the image upside down.

photonovore
Moonatic

Reged: 12/24/04

Loc: tacoma wa
Re: Lunar craters inverting illusion new [Re: Carol L]
      #3660055 - 03/04/10 10:36 AM

Hi Carol! Just like old times, mm? That is an excellent illustration of the effect. I made an animated gif of the opposite images just for fun... Crater-dome Illusion

calibos
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 11/18/07

Loc: Ireland
      #3679932 - 03/14/10 08:22 AM

If only I could switch views as easy on the moon in real life. I was able to switch from blisters to craters very easily without even looking at the image upside down. Pity its not that easy on the moon.

revans
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 09/26/05

Loc: Fitchburg, MA
Re: Lunar craters inverting illusion new [Re: calibos]
      #3694540 - 03/20/10 09:28 PM