Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Binoviewers

Pages: 1
Eddgie
Postmaster

Reged: 02/01/06

Binoview Vs CCD in Solar White Light new
      #6296153 - 01/06/14 02:43 PM Attachment (18 downloads)

Ok, here is man vs CCD.

Why post here? Because before binoviewing, I could never see this kind of detail on the sun.

The sketch shown here is opposite Toms beautiful picture that he posted today, and when I saw it, I was thrilled to see that he confirmed most of the details I was seeing.

I am a very poor artist, but I have been getting better detail in binoviewers than I am seeing in most CCD images, but it does not come all at once.

If you read my Solar White Light post though, and you are using a 4" to 5" APO or ED scope and a good solar filter, you should be able to easily see as much detail as shown in the CCD image here as evidenced by my drawing, which again, does not really full convey the level of detail I was getting visually.

If you have not binoviewed the sun with 4 to 5 inch ED or APO, you are missing a great show!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
hfjacinto
I think he's got it!

Reged: 01/12/09

Loc: Land of clouds and LP
Re: Binoview Vs CCD in Solar White Light new [Re: Eddgie]
      #6296171 - 01/06/14 02:52 PM

The CCD will probably only be as good as the eye and the reason I say that is the sun is very active. Its hard to image longer than 30 seconds before the sun moves enough to start blurring the stacked images.

I will say that I can see more contrast than a camera and my Lunt, but my camera captures lots of detail that I might miss.

George N
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 05/19/06