Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Binoviewers

Pages: 1
Eddgie
Postmaster

Reged: 02/01/06

Opinions on Denk Standard OCA vs 45mm OCA
      #6308152 - 01/12/14 01:20 PM

I have limited experience with the Denk in a Newtonian, but my question is about the 45mm OCA.

The last time I used a Denk in my 12" f/4.9 dob, even with the 45mm OCS, it seems like there was a bit of field illumination falloff in low power mode, however at the time, I needed a lot of extension on the OCA because my focuser did not have the necessary in-travel to reach focus otherwise.

Since then, I have replaced the factory focuser with a lower profile focuser, and I am confident that I could now reach focus with the OCA screwed fully in.

I am looking to buy a either a Denk II or a new Binotron system, but I am torn on the extra cost of the 45mm OCA.

I will likely use Explore Scientific 20mm 68 degree eyepecies for now (maybe add D21s later).

Has anyone compared the standard OCS and the 45mm OCS when used in this manner, with no extension required?

How was the standard 38mm OCS? Did you feel that light falloff was acceptable, or was it noticable? I live under fairly bright skies, so this means that severe illumination falloff is detecatble due to the fact that the sky will appear much brighter at the center of the field than the outside. I can tolerate a little dimming, but not a lot.

I know it is subjective, but I would like to hear opinions.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Allan Wade
sage

Reged: 01/27/13

Loc: Newcastle, Australia
Re: Opinions on Denk Standard OCA vs 45mm OCA new [Re: Eddgie]