Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Observing >> Variable Star Observing and Radio Astronomy

Pages: 1
Adam S
scholastic sledgehammer

Reged: 12/21/05

Loc: Gunnison, Colorado
What do you wish you'd been told about.. new
      #6291451 - 01/04/14 10:29 AM

I've been observing with refractors for about 35 years, I can find about half of the Messier list without an atlas, I take reasonable astronomical images so I've got a solid base for the next astronomical pursuit. In enjoy imaging but I'm finding it to be be a little impersonal for myself and astronomy. I miss being at the telescope under the stars.

Over the last several months the idea of estimating variables has grown and I'm going to pursue it.

I've navigated the AAVSO site and am good with making charts and finding the obvious candidates (will start with the 10 star tutorial).

I've got three questions:

As experienced variable observers (or someone who's new and developing) what advice do you wish you'd been given when at ground zero and never made an estimate?

Second question, I use either a four inch or five refractor for observing. The both have a focal length of 819mm. What magnifications do you recommend? I did a quick look at Betelgeuse the other night and felt like a 20mm at 40x with 1.8 deg matched AAVSO's Chart B nicely.

Lastly, is there a book you recommend? While the AAVSO site seems to have everything you'd need, I'd still be interested in a book with charts, magnitudes etc.

Thanks in advance,

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
lee14

Reged: 12/19/09

Re: What do you wish you'd been told about.. new [Re: Adam S]
      #6291511 - 01/04/14 10:49 AM