Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Mounts

Pages: 1
russdirks

Reged: 07/06/12

iOptron SmartEq goto accuracy new
      #5641597 - 01/24/13 09:56 PM

I got this mount a while ago, and have not been too impressed with the goto accuracy. I'm new to goto mounts, though, and getting back into astronomy after a 20 year absence. I'm wondering if my expectations are too high, my polar alignments are inadequate, or the scope is at fault. I've got a 4" Mak on it, which at low power gives me only 1 degree FOV. My expectation is that most of the time the target should be in the FOV, but I've only been getting that kind of performance about 25% of the time. The rest of the time it can be as much as 1 degree away from the target.

To start with my polar alignments were pretty poor, but I've been working at doing a better job. The last time I was out, after a 2-star align, the hand controller told me I was out 11 arc minutes in altitude and 19 arc minutes in azimuth. I figured that was pretty good ... if the goto's were that accurate I'd be a happy camper. So I did some goto's to some bright, well known stars in various parts of the sky, and most of the time the star would not be in the FOV. Usually it was out by about a degree.

What do you think? Should I be getting better performance from this thing? Or do my PAs need to be better.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
russdirks

Re: iOptron SmartEq goto accuracy new [Re: russdirks]
      #5643283 - 01/25/13 08:14 PM