Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Telescope Specific Forums >> Celestron NexStar

Pages: 1
Frankie38
journeyman

Reged: 07/11/12

8se Diagonal Question new
      #5433355 - 09/21/12 07:51 PM

I have an Nexstar 8se I bought back in March.This is my first telescope.So I am new to astronomy.I have already spent ALOT of money on 1.25 inch eyepieces.Would it be worth the expense to buy a 1.25 inch Tele vue Everbrite diagonal to replace the stock diagonal? How much better would the views be if any? Thanks for any help!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
hopskipson
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 06/24/10

Loc: Queens, New Yawk, Light pollut...
Re: 8se Diagonal Question new [Re: Frankie38]
      #5433400 - 09/21/12 08:24 PM

Welcome Frankie38, I'm not familiar with the diagonal you mention, but you may be better served with a 2" diagonal. If and when you start to use a binoviewer or larger widefield 2" eyepices you won't need a new piece of equipment. Any decent dielectric diagonal should suffice. I have one from Scopestuff manufactured by GSO. Works great and was only $119 US.

James

Midnight Dan
Postmaster

Reged: 01/23/08

Loc: Hilton, NY, Yellow Zone (Bortl...
      #5433401 - 09/21/12 08:25 PM

Hi Frankie & Welcome to the Forum!

I doubt you would notice any difference between the stock diagonal and the Everbrite.

-Dan

Don Trinko
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 07/05/09

Loc: Ohio
Re: 8se Diagonal Question new [Re: Midnight Dan]
      #5433942 - 09/22/12 07:30 AM

visually there would be little or no difference.
If you want to get a diagonal I would get a 2" one. Some of the 2" eyepieces are handy for wide views.
I got one from Astronomics that fits directly on the scope. It is short enough to clean the base at the zenith with the scope mounted all the way forward. All IMO; Don T.

Maverick199
Postmaster

Reged: 02/27/11

Loc: India
Re: 8se Diagonal Question new [Re: Don Trinko]
      #5434006 - 09/22/12 08:34 AM