Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu uh, User

General Astronomy >> Beginners Forum

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
sam.clearsky
journeyman

Reged: 11/08/12

HELP !!! Which binocular to choose???????
      #5509674 - 11/08/12 10:28 AM

Hi All,

I am new to astronomy and I have decided to buy my first set of binoculars', after much research I have narrowed down to the the below list.

1. Oberwerk 8x56
OR
2. Oberwerk 9x60
OR
3. Oberwerk/Garret 15x70

Can anyone suggest which one should I go for?

And is there any major difference b/w 8x56 and 9x60 wrt to viewing and overall experience??

I stay in a city which is heavily light polluted.

Purpose:
1. Lunar and Planetary observation,
2. Wanna get used to night sky observation
3. Cluster viewing and Nebulae viewing too.

Thanks,
Sam

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
festa_freak

Reged: 12/22/11

Loc: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Re: HELP !!! Which binocular to choose??????? new [Re: sam.clearsky]
      #5509711 - 11/08/12 10:50 AM

I bought Celestron 15x70 last year for $50 at a big sale. I was looking into slightly higher quality binoculars at the time as well but you cannot argue with $50. They were my first binoculars so I have nothing to compare them with.

I bought a tripod which is needed for the bigger 15x70's and I also had to buy a mounting bracket because the included plastic one was junk (allowd binos to move in wind).

I greatly enjoy my 15x70's. I have viewed orion nebula, andromeda, clusters and the planets and the moon. All you see with planets are little points of light but you can see the moons of jupiter (smaller points of light).