Jump to content

  •  

User Reviews


MONO & BINO VIEWING WITH THE BAADER MORPHEUS 17.5MM EYEPIECE

Mar 22 2018 11:22 AM | BillP in User Reviews

Baader markets their Morpheus line as “high-end” 76° apparent field of view (AFOV) eyepieces designed for visual / photo / video functions that can exploit the capabilities of the finest telescope optics. The eyepieces have a optical design that utilizes 8 lenses in 3 groups and includes the use of 3 low dispersion ED elements and 1 Lanthanum element. With the introduction of the 17.5mm, there are now six eyepieces in the line including 14mm, 12mm, 9mm, 6.5mm, and 4.5mm. All eyepieces can be used in either 1.25” or 2” focusers without adapters. The Morpheus line touts a rather long list of features and comes packaged with multiple accessories.

Read story →    6 comments    -----    eyepieces

The Eye of the Flak (Das Auge der Flak)

Dec 07 2017 02:34 PM | Micah in Books & Software

It is a rare and wondrous thing when your hobby and passion leads you to a place where you find yourself driven to pursue discover ever deepening levels of historical and technical detail of a subject and it leads to newer discoveries. It's even more satisfying sometimes when you even uncover information once thought to be lost forever to the ravages of time and a world war. A new publication, "The Eye of the Flak" by Dr. Peter DeLaet and Francis Vermeire, is just that.

Read story →    2 comments    -----

COMPARING THE MASUYAMA 25MM 52°, 25MM 65°, AND 26MM 85°

Nov 24 2017 09:33 AM | BillP in User Reviews

The modern incarnation of the Masuyama eyepieces seems to have carried forward their excellent reputation for providing high apparent contrast views. Indeed, for the globulars and nebula observed the Masuyama 85° quickly became my favorite during the testing, showing them brightly, richer in details than the other eyepieces, and with the largest contextual TFOV.

Read story →    23 comments    *****


BRESSER 4 Inch f 4.5 AR 102XS Refractor visual observers’ REVIEW

Nov 23 2017 04:12 PM | TimVerst in User Reviews

For me, the 102SX is a solid, wide/rich-field travel scope. I’ll pimp up the finder-scope and dew shield, making this one a keeper.

Read story →    20 comments    *****

New Moon Telescopes 16”f/4

Nov 23 2017 03:31 PM | kreegan99 in User Reviews

After purchasing my New Moon Telescopes 16” Dob, the amount of observing hours I logged doubled easily. The scope performance is superb, but making it easy to setup, roll out, collimate, etc really makes the big difference in my very busy life.

Read story →    19 comments    *****


The Ages of Astrophotography 1839-2015

May 06 2017 07:36 AM | RefractorPhill in Books & Software

The author, Stefan Hughes, is a historian/ astronomer with a passion for astrophotography and genealogy (family tree research). His interest for ancestral research and the lineage of families gave rise to his first book "Catchers of the Light - The Forgotten Lives of the Men and Women who First Photographed the Heavens" in which he focuses on the background of the first astro photographers and astronomers 19th and 20th centuries. The second book, "The Ages of Astrophotography" is a must-read sequel which fits well on every astronomer's book shelf!

Read story →    7 comments    -----

Stardust Gallery LED Lightbox and Metallic Print Review

Feb 25 2017 11:42 AM | Jovian Admirer in User Reviews

The owner of Stardust Gallery, Craig, was looking for volunteers to review an LED backlit lightbox containing either a Hubble image or an image of user choice. Since I had what I felt were fairly decent Milky Way images acquired from a session at a dark sky site late last Fall, I thought one of the somewhat processed images might be a good candidate to display inside one of the Stardust Gallery backlit lightboxes, and eagerly forwarded the image to the website.

Read story →    14 comments    -----


Rayox Saddle Review

Feb 25 2017 10:48 AM | Derek Wong in User Reviews

The Rayox dovetail saddle (regular price $449 with adapter through Woodland Hills Telescope, with an initial discount for Cloud Nights members) is a breakthrough product that has significant advantages compared to existing systems, especially when working with heavy equipment. If this system had been available earlier, I could have avoided some potentially dangerous situations…

Read story →    18 comments    -----

MoonLite NiteCrawler Focuser

Feb 25 2017 10:24 AM | Katz in User Reviews

I have been using telescopes for film and limited CCD use for well over 20 years, and because of extensive business travel coupled with a spouse who cannot access the observatory due to disability, I needed a product that would be solid, reliable, allow for remote precise FOV rotation, temperature compensation, no requirement to find a zero-point and reinitialize the position of the drive motors, and easily adaptable to various optical tubes. As an engineer and former aircraft mechanic, I demand a great deal out of the build quality of anything that I own as well.

Read story →    11 comments    *****


Celestron Cometron 7x50s Review

Feb 25 2017 09:04 AM | Augustus in User Reviews

This review describes the Celestron Cometron 7x50s including my initial impressions along with examination during actual use for around 1 month. I live in a suburb in New England under Bortle 6-7 skies. I have 3 telescopes, the oldest of which I have had for one year.

Read story →    6 comments    *****



Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics