Jump to content

  •  

Observing Books



Observing Handbook and Catalogue of Deep-Sky Objects

Apr 02 2010 10:01 AM | Feidb in Observing Books

I'm a hard-core observer and love nothing better than a good reference book with information that is relevant to my goals. Since my friend Roger and I started an Observer's Challenge with the

Read story →    -----

Atlas of the Messier Objects: Highlights of the Deep Sky

Mar 19 2010 06:10 AM | admin in Observing Books

My first thought when I picked the book up was that this was going to be some heavy reading. Literally. The book weighs over five pounds and measures 12 inches by 10 inches, weight and proportions combining to make the book somewhat awkward to holding while reading. This is not a book to

Read story →    -----

Cambridge Double Star Atlas

Jan 06 2010 07:08 AM | Feidb in Observing Books

The book is well organized, has listings for over 2000 double stars, and includes all the Struve numbers. Every double star listed is highlighted in green on the specialized

Read story →    -----

Two Guides to Observing Deep Space Objects - Book Reviews

Jan 06 2010 06:52 AM | dwright in Observing Books

I've been using the two books in this review (along with other references) to track down open clusters and other prey suitable for binoculars and small refractor while figuring out what to get for a

Read story →    -----

The Backyard Astronomer’s Guide - Book Review

Dec 28 2009 08:56 AM | admin in Observing Books

I have had several false starts with the hobby, mostly due to a lack of knowledge on my part of what is proper gear and what are realistic expectations

Read story →    -----

The Next Step, The Messier Objects, Atlas of the Messier Objects - Book Reviews

Dec 23 2009 09:08 AM | PhilDurt in Observing Books

I know that in the Northern Hemisphere, Messier objects are wonderful sights to observe with the naked eye, binoculars, and telescopes. What is the ultimate book to help me get the most out of observing Messier objects?

Read story →    -----

Turn Left at Orion: A hundred night sky objects to see in a small telescope–and how to find them...

Dec 22 2009 11:01 AM | havira in Observing Books

The authors introduce beginners to the night sky; celestial motion, constellations, and the various objects one can expect to see with a modest telescope

Read story →    -----

Sky and Telescope’s Pocket Sky Atlas - Book Review

Dec 22 2009 10:57 AM | havira in Observing Books

It shows stars to magnitude 7.6 which includes all stars visible in a modest finderscope. There are 80 charts on facing pages each pair covering

Read story →    -----

Backyard Astronomer's Guide, Third Edition - Book Review

Dec 22 2009 09:29 AM | admin in Observing Books

As many a new astronomer might aspire, astrophotograhy is one of the reasons for jumping into the field of astronomy. The sheer magnitude

Read story →    -----

Herschel 400 Observing Guide - Book Review

Dec 18 2009 12:15 PM | admin in Observing Books

For many of the goals (lists) that you set, a good observing guide can be a great help. Observing guides for amateur astronomers have been popular since

Read story →    -----




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics