Jump to content

  •  

Alt-Azimuth




Takahashi Teegul Mount

Mar 28 2005 09:46 AM | Steve Foltz in Alt-Azimuth

My August 2000 trip to Ft.Davis revealed the need for a mount with alt-az slewing quickness and equatorial slow-motion accuracy (try wide-field sweeps with a manual equatorial). The Teegul has been on my mind for some time, but I hesitated to buy it because of concerns about swing-arm and tripod stability with 4" scopes (mine's a 3"). Having spoken with several owners about the mount, I decided to put my money down on Takahashi's alt-az design.

Read story →    -----

Fixing the Takahashi Teegul: A simple adapter can remove the shakes from this otherwise excellent...

Mar 28 2005 09:45 AM | nikjo in Alt-Azimuth

The Takashi Teegul is a unique and elegant alt-azimuth telescope mount with very smooth, precise, slow-motion controls. However, much to the dismay of its owners, the mount is plagued with a bad case of the shakes. This has been mentioned in other reviews of the mount on this website . Although I loved the smooth precise positioning the mount offers, the obvious vibrations visible at higher magnifications forced me to consider selling it or letting it gather dust in the garage. Before taking this drastic step, I made an attempt to cure it of its ills.

Read story →    -----

Nisur Systems "Taurus" Alt/Az Mount

Mar 28 2005 09:37 AM | Guest in Alt-Azimuth

The Taurus mount resembles the Televue Telepod mount. As owner of a Telepod its advantages as a mount for small scopes such as the ST-80 became immediately apparent. Any attempt to use the setup at relatively high powers make it obvious that its shortcomings are the lack of slo-mo controls. Other than that the Telepod is extremely comfortable and easy to use. The Nisur Taurus is larger, has slo-mo controls, and is said to handle a sixteen pound load. Ordering was done by telephone

Read story →    -----

HOME BUILT ALT-AZ MOUNT FOR AP AND OTHER REFRACTORS

Mar 28 2005 09:31 AM | Dave Novoselsky in Alt-Azimuth

I am a bug on simple, easy-to-set-up mounts for visual work with refractors. I consider EQ mounts as necessary evils for visual work. I had bought a Takahashi Teegul but found it not suitable for high power use with my FS 102 and marginal with my FCT 76. The Vixen Custom D Alt-Az was better. I assumed that the limit for any such mount would be a 4". I was wrong.

Read story →    -----

APM TELE-OPTIC GR-2 ALT-AZ MOUNT

Mar 28 2005 09:29 AM | Dave Novoselsky in Alt-Azimuth

As should be obvious to those of you who have read my prior mount and/or scope reviews, I consider EQ mounts a necessary evil for purely visual astronomy. A well built, properly-functioningproperly functioning Alt/Az mount is faster to set up and faster to use than an EQ mount. The key to this, of course, is finding an Alt/Az mount that will work properly with your refractor. Having already found at least two Alt/Az mounts that fit my needs (the Tele Vue Gibraltar and the Vixen Alt/Az Custom D, reviewed elsewhere on this site, I had forgotten that I had ordered the APM Tele-Optic Gr-2 mount from Bill Burnett at ITE some time ago. When I read that several had been spotted at RTMC, I called Bill, who told me my mount was in and ready to be shipped. It showed up this morning.

Read story →    -----

APM TELE-OPTIC GR-2 ALT-AZ MOUNT

Mar 28 2005 09:28 AM | Dave Novoselsky in Alt-Azimuth

As should be obvious to those of you who have read my prior mount and/or scope reviews, I consider EQ mounts a necessary evil for purely visual astronomy. A well built, properly-functioning Alt/Az mount is faster to set up and faster to use than an EQ mount. The key to this, of course, is finding an Alt/Az mount that will work properly with your refractor. Having already found at least two Alt/Az mounts that fit my needs (the Tele Vue Gibraltar and the Vixen Alt/Az Custom D), reviewed elsewhere on this site, I had forgotten that I had ordered the APM Tele-Optic Gr-2 mount from Bill Burnett at ITE some time ago. When I read that several had been spotted at RTMC, I called Bill, who told me my mount was in and ready to be shipped. It showed up this morning.

Read story →    -----

APM Tele-Optic Giro-2 Deluxe Alt-Az Mount

Mar 28 2005 09:26 AM | Dave Novoselsky in Alt-Azimuth

Reviewed elsewhere on this site is the standard version of the APM Tele-Optic Giro-2 mount. After I reviewed that mount, I contacted Markus at APM and inquired about the Deluxe version, said to be capable of holding 40 to 50 pounds and carrying two scopes at the same time. Markus offered to send me one of the Deluxe models, and one of his new wooden tripods. The mount just showed up, but the tripod was delayed in the mail. The following is my initial review of this mount. I am leaving for a short vacation tomorrow, and the mount, the TMB 100 f/8 and the TV 140 are going with, along with a Baader Tripod to carry them. I will report in more detail when I get back, but here is the quick and dirty on this mount.

Read story →    -----

Borg Alt-Az Mount For Small Refractors

Mar 25 2005 11:54 AM | Dave Novoselsky in Alt-Azimuth

Telescope mounts have become an obsession with me over the last year or so. Unless you are buying a Dobsonian, where the mount is part of the basic OTA, every telescope you buy must be mounted. If that telescope is a refractor, you have three basic choices: Fork (yes, there are a few refractors so mounted, such as the newer sub-100mm Meade and Celestron GOTO systems); Equatorial mounts (the largest and the most complex to set up - albeit usually the most versatile); and the Alt-Az mounts. The last are generally the simplest to set up, the lightest and the most inexpensive. They have their limitations, but for a quick set up and for general use, they are hard to beat.

Read story →    -----

Two Fast and Useful Alt/Az Mounts: The Vixen Custom D Alt/Az Mount and Tele Vue Gibraltar Mount

Mar 25 2005 11:52 AM | Dave Novoselsky in Alt-Azimuth

For those of you who know me, you know that I consider EQ mounts a necessary evil for purely visual astronomy. A well built, properly functioning Alt/Az mount is faster to set up and faster to use than an EQ mount. The key to this, of course, is finding an Alt/Az mount that will work properly with your refractor.

Read story →    -----

Unistar Light Deluxe Alt-Az Mount

Mar 25 2005 10:53 AM | Jim Carpenter in Alt-Azimuth

A couple of years ago I acquired a Stellarvue 80mm f/6 wide field refractor to supplement my main observing instrument, which at the time was an 8" Celestron SCT. Since the refractor was intended to be my quick look or "grab-n-go" scope, I decided that an alt-az mount would best suit my needs, so I purchased a Televue Telepod head mounted on a heavy-duty Bogen tripod. I rapidly became a convert to the ease of alt-az viewing, so much so that I soon traded the 8" SCT for a 10" Discovery Dobsonian.

Read story →    -----




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics