Jump to content

  •  

German Equatorial




Parallax HD150C Mount

Mar 22 2005 01:01 PM | Guest in German Equatorial

I got ambitious last year and purchased a nice 10 inch Mak. Delivery time was almost a year, so in a normal world, this would be plenty of time to get an appropriate mount, right? Well, we all know what kind of world some of the astronomical products live in. I don't need instant gratification, but I wanted a premium quality mount that could handle heavy loads (large scope, piggy-backed small refractor, accessories, cameras, etc.), and I wanted it before "The-Big-2003-Mars-Event". I also wanted a mount that could handle mild abuse from college students doing occasional undergraduate research.

Read story →    -----

LXD55/75 MOUNT

Mar 22 2005 12:38 PM | jrcrilly in German Equatorial

This is the procedure I recommend to ensure that your LXD55/75 mount is functional and properly assembled BEFORE trying it in the dark. These simple steps will help you to become familiar with the mount and how it works, and will also help you to be sure when you try it under the stars there will be no surprises. Along the way, we'll make a few preliminary adjustments. This does not mean that we have done everything possible to optimize the mount, but the mount should be capable of delivering reasonable performance after these steps. In the future we'll have a look at some of the fine tuning possible to enhance the performance even further. Note that this was originally written before the LXD75 model was introduced. All photos are of the LXD55 mount, but everything here except the tripod assembly refers to both models.

Read story →    -----

Meade LXD55 Mount and OTA's

Mar 22 2005 12:35 PM | warp in German Equatorial

Meade has recently upped the bar in "perceived" value and performance in amateur astronomy packages with the introduction of the LXD55 series of scopes. I say "perceived" because as with any product introduction, there are both real and un-realistic expectations of performance / cost relationship. This review will focus more on the mount with basic info on the optics. I currently own and use both the SN10 10" reflector and the AR6 6" achromat refractor.

Read story →    *****

Heavy duty, yet portable German Equatorial Mount

Mar 22 2005 12:25 PM | antonio zanardo in German Equatorial

At the moment of writing this article, the Celestron 11 scope and my new home made GEM equatorial mount (Picture 1) stand in front of me as a dream come true. The mount is shining like a real *gem*, by showing its parts beautifully machined out of special aluminum alloys, rustproof steel and pure bronze.

Read story →    -----

Losmandy GM-8 Mount and Digital Circles/Computer

Mar 22 2005 12:23 PM | Eddgie in German Equatorial

The Losmandy GM-8 is one of my favorite things. I remember the first time I put it together and admired it. It is just one of those rare acquisitions that have some special aura surrounding it.

Read story →    -----

Meade LXD750 vs the Losmandy G11

Mar 22 2005 12:21 PM | Guest in German Equatorial

Early in 2001 I was getting back into astronomy after a pause of nearly 10 years. I bought a Klevstov 200K OTA which weighs about 12.5Kg and needed a mount to take me to the objects I wanted to see. Goto was essential. So I turned to Cloudy Nights for inspiration, like many would be purchasers of mounts before me I had narrowed down my search to the Losmandy G11 and the Meade LXD750. The used LXD750 with #1697 goto system seemed to be considerably cheaper than the G11 with Gemini and the review by Joe D certainly gave me no cause for concern. So when one came up around $1800 on Amart I bought it.

Read story →    -----

Takahashi EM200 USD II Review

Mar 22 2005 12:18 PM | Guest in German Equatorial

Firstly, I’ll introduce myself. My name is Rob Pollard and I live in Plymouth UK. I’ve been interested in Astronomy since the age of 6 and have been actively pursuing it as an observer for the last 6 years. I haven’t done any astrophotography/CCD imaging yet, although this is my ultimate aim, hence the purchase of this mount for my Takahashi FS102. This is my first equipment review of any kind, so keep that in mind as you read this article.

Read story →    -----

Takahashi EM200 USD II

Mar 22 2005 12:16 PM | Guest in German Equatorial

Firstly, I’ll introduce myself. My name is Rob Pollard and I live in Plymouth UK. I’ve been interested in Astronomy since the age of 6 and have been actively pursuing it as an observer for the last 6 years. I haven’t done any astrophotography/CCD imaging yet, although this is my ultimate aim, hence the purchase of this mount for my Takahashi FS102. This is my first equipment review of any kind, so keep that in mind as you read this article.

Read story →    -----

Celestron AS-GT (CG-5 GT) GOTO EQ Mount

Mar 18 2005 12:48 PM | Guest in German Equatorial

One of the pleasures of amateur astronomy for me is sharing my views of the night sky with friends. I live several miles outside of Santa Fe, New Mexico and am fortunate to have reasonably dark and clear skies. I can haul my gear 50 feet from my front door and have a clear view of much of the night sky. My “star gatherings” were enhanced a couple of years ago by the purchase of my first GOTO system, a Meade LX90. I quickly became a fan of GOTO, and admittedly, have become somewhat spoiled by it. Like many amateurs, I’m always experimenting (to the degree the budget allows) with different types of telescopes and gear. I’ve had 10 different scopes and several different mounts over the past several years. I currently own two 6” Russian maks, a 10” Schmidt-Newtonian, and the LX90. My other scopes ride on a Losmandy GM-8 equatorial mount. I’m very pleased with the GM-8 mount, except for one thing. It doesn’t have GOTO. When I checked out the Gemini GOTO system from Losmandy, I found that the GOTO add-on by itself was as much as the GM

Read story →    -----

Gemini G41

Mar 10 2005 10:42 AM | Guest in German Equatorial

A key issue with this type of research is to observe as many galaxies possible in a limited time frame. This means you need a robotic mount that performs well on both slewing and tracking. The CCD-chip covers about 20' min of arc and every slew will have to place the object on chip.

Read story →    -----




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics