Jump to content

  •  

* * * * *

Omegon Mini Track LX2 Review


Discuss this article in our forums

Omegon Mini Track LX2 Review

Erwin Matys, Karoline Mrazek (project nightflight)

 

This new purely mechanical tracker based on a simple clockwork is conquering the sky tracker market. We gave it a closer look.

 

This review can be downloaded as a PDF (1.3MB) from

 www.project-nightflight.net/omegon_mini_track_lx2_review.pdf

 

The Mini Track LX2 is a small camera tracker that provides 60 minutes of tracking time. It was developed by Italian astrophotographer Christian Fattinnanzi and is distributed by Omegon. The device stands out among the other available sky trackers, since it is driven by a mechanical clock that needs no electrical power source. Besides that, it brings another innovation: To compensate for the camera weight, it features a spring mechanism that helps to stabilize the tracking rate.

 

 

The device is well built in an almost all metal design and makes a good overall impression. At 430g the Mini Track LX2 is very lightweight and compact, its dimensions are 21x8x5cm. In September 2018 we bought a unit and immediately started with thorough tests. Here is what we found out.

 

 

Shipping

The little device gets shipped in a neat cardboard box. As the picture below shows, the Mini Track LX2 is available in a bundle with a ball head. The ball head is Arca Swiss compatible, and a dovetail plate is included.

 

 

The shipment also includes a 3/8" adapter screw to replace the 1/4" version for mounting the ball head. This allows the photographer to attach a ball head with the larger 3/8" thread. A key to switch between the two adapter screws is also provided. Besides the tracker itself, the shipping box also includes a small sighting tube. It is basically a piece of a black plastic pipe that can be attached to the tracker and is serving as a means to align the tracker with the celestial pole.

 

 

Manual

The shipping box does not include a printed manual, only a note that refers to the Omegon website, where the user manual can be downloaded as a PDF in several languages. The manual is actually very well written, illustrated with many drawings and highly informative, especially for photographers who are not familiar with astronomical terms and procedures. Have a look at the manual for yourself at www.omegon.eu

 

 

Storage and Transport

Sadly, the Mini Track LX2 comes without a bag. We did not dare to stuff it into our camera backpack without an additional layer of protection. For this reason we customized a padded wrapper bag that folds around the device and is closed with Velcro pads: 

 

 

In our opinion it would be a good idea for the manufacturer to design a padded pouch or bag for the Mini Track LX2. The metal plate on the bottom of the tracker that holds the spring for camera weight compensation has quite sharp edges. This has the potential of severely damaging other photographic equipment that gets in contact with it during storage and transportation.

 

 

Tracking Accuracy

On the evening of September 29, 2018 we did a first test of the device's tracking precision from our dark sky site in Austria. The tracker was mounted on a photo tripod with a geared head. For testing we used a Baader modified EOS 1100Da body. Our target was Altair, which was near the meridian during our tests. Altair is also close to the celestial equator, which makes sure that the tracking errors of the device show to their full extent. Several exposures with a 50mm lens made it clear that the exposure time should not exceed 2 minutes at this focal length. This nicely confirms the rule of thumb the manufacturer gives for the valid exposure times. It says that the maximum exposure time in minutes is 100 divided by the focal length. Here is one of the 2min sample images shot with the 50mm lens, with the inset being a 100% crop:

 

 

To quantify the tracking precision in greater detail we monitored it over a time span of 30 minutes with a 135mm lens. Here is the result:

 

 

The graph once again confirms the manufacturer's rule of thumb for maximum exposure times (T[min]=100/fl[mm]) and makes it obvious that with a 50mm lens most 2 minute exposures will turn out fine. With a 25mm lens 4 minute exposures will be possible and with focal lengths of 16mm or less exposure times could even exceed that. For these short exposure times polar alignment does not have to be very accurate. As we discuss below in more detail, the needed accuracy can easily be achieved with the included sighting device.

 

 

Polar Alignment

For polar alignment, the Mini Track LX2 comes with a small plastic pipe as a sighting tube. The manual states that simply aiming the tracker at Polaris by looking through the small tube will suffice. What the manual does not say: To get a clear line of sight at Polaris it is often necessary to temporarily rotate the camera away by using the ball head. In any case, polar alignment should be done when the camera is already mounted on the tracker.

 

In various forum postings there has been some guessing whether improving the means for polar alignment would increase the tracker's performance and minimize trailing. These ideas include the use of a laser pointer, application of the Kochab method and even substituting the sighting device with an optical finder. In our opinion these customizations are not worth the effort. Some simple math shows that when exposure times are kept within the manufacturer's rule of thumb, the needed polar alignment precision is +/-1.4 degrees, even if the photographer goes for tiny round star images smaller than 10 micrometers on the camera chip. The blue circle on the illustration depicts the pointing accuracy needed for these applications:

 

 

If the instrument pole is within this circle of 2.8 degrees diameter around the celestial pole, no trailing due to polar misalignment will occur. This coarse alignment precision of +/-1.4 degrees can easily be achieved with the sighting tube. If the sighting tube is carefully oriented toward Polaris, any trailing that remains is most likely due to other causes, like errors of the clock drive, slippage of the ball head, strong winds, an unstable surface or flexure of an overloaded tripod.

 

To sum it up, the provided sighting device is sufficient for polar alignment of the tracker. When sticking to the exposure times recommended by the manufacturer, simply aiming through it at Polaris absolutely does the job.

 

 

Spring Mechanism

Since our initial test results with the Mini Track LX2 were quite promising, we decided to go a little deeper with a follow-up test. This time we looked into the tracker's innovative spring mechanism for weight compensation. 

 

The manual says that the spring should be set to different positions depending on where the payload's center of gravity is located. This would compensate for the payload weight and prevent the clock drive from running slow or fast. When the camera weight is above the tracker, the spring can be disengaged. When the camera weight is west of the tracker, it will speed up the clock drive and the spring should be set to the retaining position "R". When the camera weight is east of the tracker, it will slow down the clock drive and the spring should be set to one of the compensating positions "1" through "5". The manual also says that the position "5" with the highest tension should be able to handle a payload of 2kg. 

 

Since we do not want to strain the small device with the maximum payload of 2kg we only use the Mini Track with very lightweight equipment. For the test we used a 50mm lens on a DSLR body, weighing in at a total of 0.8kg. Again, we shot Altair, this time with different camera positions. We made exposures with the camera's center of gravity above the tracker, east of the tracker and west of the tracker and tried different settings of the spring. The results showed that at the extreme positions in the west and east, with this payload weight the spring settings "R" and "2" work effectively to stabilize the clock drive's tracking rate. With heavier camera bodies the settings might differ, but without any doubt we could verify that the spring mechanism for weight compensation is actually working. See the illustration below: 

 

 

In addition to the tests of the spring mechanism with Altair we also did a test run of the tracker with the camera pointing to the zenith. The payload weight was in an extreme position to the west of the tracker, the spring was set to the position “R”. Again, the result turned out fine:  

 

 

This test image is a single 2-minute shot of the constellation Cas with a Baader modified EOS1100Da body set to ISO3200 and a 50mm lens working @f/4. We used a Neodymium lens filter to increase the contrast.

 

 

Wide Angle Shots

After the initial tests, we took the device with us on a trip to La Palma island. To show what first steps with the Mini Track might result in, we did a typical picture a beginning astrophotographer would be eager to make: A scenic image of the Milky Way. For this, we shot from a viewpoint at sea level near Puerto Naos and used an EOS 1100Da at ISO1600 with a 16mm lens working @f/5.6. We made two 4-minute exposures, one tracked and with a diffuser filter for the sky, one untracked and unfiltered for the foreground. The two shots were combined in Photoshop and some additional slight processing was applied.

 

 

The result shows the center of the Milky Way setting behind the Atlantic Ocean's horizon. To make the star patterns more obvious, the stars were deliberately blurred with a diffuser lens filter. In the center of the image Saturn shines brightly. As mentioned above, the foreground is from a second unfiltered shot made without tracking.

 

 

Tele Lens Shots

As a final test, we wanted to find out the limits of the small tracker. We set ourselves the goal to produce an image of a less bright deep sky object with a typical DSLR tele lens. After some discussions we chose to shoot NGC 1499, the California Nebula, with a 135mm lens. Our approach was to keep the individual exposures short, shoot at a high ISO setting and compensate for that with a large number of individual frames. The actual exposures were made during Halloween night, on October 31, 2018 from La Palma island at an altitude of 800m above sea level. The shots turned out quite nice. We had to sort out some of the subs due to clouds that passed during the exposure series, but not a single frame was ruined by trailing. Here is the processed result:

 

 

This test image of the California Nebula was acquired on October 31, 2018, from La Palma island with an EOS 1100Da body and a Zeiss Sonnar 135mm lens working @f/4. The ISO setting was 6400 and a Hutech LPS-P2 light pollution lens filter was used. The image is a photoshopped stack of 109 subframes, 20 seconds each. Flats, flatdarks and darks were applied.

 

 

Summary

The Mini Track LX2 is a very nice device that perfectly fulfills its advertised claims. It is small, lightweight, portable and provides basic sky tracking ability for DSLR photographers on every budget. In our opinion, the Mini Track LX2 is primarily a tracker for wide angle lenses. With focal lengths up to 50mm spectacular deep images of star fields and the Milky Way are within everybody's reach. When using longer focal lengths, like 135mm, we advise beginners to stick to brighter targets that can be captured with short exposure times, e.g. the moon's earthshine, lunar eclipses or bright star clusters. With more experience, one might even try to shoot dimmer deep sky objects with tele lenses. In this case, we recommend keeping the exposure times short, use a high ISO setting and reduce the inevitable noise with a large number of subframes that are later combined with stacking software.

 

Pro

+ Very easy to use

+ Fast setup

+ Lightweight and portable

+ No power source needed

+ High build quality

+ Well written manual

+ With wide angle lenses long exposures possible

+ Reliable when exposure times are within specs

+ Low price

 

Con

- No bag included or available as accessory

- Works only on northern hemisphere

- With tele lenses only short exposures possible

 

 

Disclaimer

The authors are founding members of project nightflight and in no way affiliated with Omegon or Christian Fattinnanzi. project nightflight is an Austrian astrophotography group that internationally promotes the conservation of the starry sky as environmental resource. See their work here: www.project-nightflight.net

 


  • B. Hebert, runrob, denis0007dl and 6 others like this


45 Comments

Thx for the replay Deadman2, do you notice any changes in the BPM after the modification?

Not that I can tell but then again I didn’t measure. Before I did the mod it would not track correctly at all. The spring put tension in the wrong direction. Now it works great. I watched a video on CHRIS Facebook page where he disassembled the unit. That is where I noticed the spring orientation and decided to change mine. Prior to that I was getting very disappointed with the unit and almost sent it back. 

Thx Deadman21, I posted in the Omegon Minitrack facebook group and I'm getting feedback from Chris and others users with the same problem in the LX3.

Thx Deadman21, I posted in the Omegon Minitrack facebook group and I'm getting feedback from Chris and others users with the same problem in the LX3.

Thankfully its not that hard to fix.

Photo
TheZ3roCool
Nov 28 2019 11:58 AM

I love this tracker...so light weight. Took this 2 min eposure with Stock DSLR and 16-35 Tokina lens

 

MW9WINNER-XL.jpg

    • Traveler, eros312, nicknacknock and 2 others like this

It appears my Omegon LX2 does not run for 60 min. as advertised.  I set it by rotating the timing gear CW to the stop.  I hear the ticking but it only runs about 30 min. max. It never runs to the point the alarm sounds.  I have tried this both with and without my DSLR attached.  I am using a Canon EOS40D.  Is there an adjustment reset?  Any comments or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Photo
Omegon_Tassilo
Feb 05 2020 10:31 AM

It appears my Omegon LX2 does not run for 60 min. as advertised.  I set it by rotating the timing gear CW to the stop.  I hear the ticking but it only runs about 30 min. max. It never runs to the point the alarm sounds.  I have tried this both with and without my DSLR attached.  I am using a Canon EOS40D.  Is there an adjustment reset?  Any comments or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Hi Runrob,

have you tried setting the tension for the spring to a higher notch? Usually if the tracking stops early this is the reason why.

Clear skies

Tassilo

    • runrob likes this

I have tried them all.  I also posted this problem on the Omegon LX2 Facebook group and there are others who are having this same problem.  Maybe, there was a bad batch of them in production as other customers have had good results.  Evidently, either an adjustment is needed or the timer mechanism has failed.  What do you suggest as of now, all I have is a fancy “paperweight”?

Photo
Omegon_Tassilo
Feb 06 2020 03:56 AM

Dear Runrob,

 

We will repair or change it for a new one of course. Did you contact our service about this? What was their response?

I wonder to hear that there are others having that problem, and I don´t know of it. I am taking care of our B2B sales team, but as a developer/designer I am also part of the Omegon Product Management, and I join the meetings. If we had a feedback that there is a problem with more than just one or two units, we would discuss and solve the problem. And we would test new production batches for that problem. Please send me a mail to tassilo.bohm@nimax.de, I will pass it on to our quality management and will have our service take care of your defective units.

We will attend NEAF again, and I don´t want to get stabbed in the back by unsatisfied customers ;-)

Clear skies

 

Tassilo

    • runrob likes this

Thank you so much for your timely response as it is greatly appreciated and shows your willingness to provide prompt customer service.  I will be sending you a personal email in the near future.

Photo
Omegon_Tassilo
Feb 10 2020 09:17 AM

Thank you for contacting us. We contact you directly

 

@ all:

FYI - we had one batch where the spring was delivered in a position where it was not pre-loaded. If you encounter problems, this might be the cause. We have published a bugfix-video here:

 

https://youtu.be/jF7ONr1h-20

 

We can only help, if we know there is a problem. Please do not hesitate to contact us. We make those units ourselves, this is not a box that arrives from China and gets forwarded. We have our own facilities in Europe, where this product is made. So we can and will react to problems.

 

 

Clear skies

 

Tassilo

    • runrob likes this

Hello!

 

Is there a guide for what point the spring should be tensioned at given the weight of the ball mount + camera + lens? I'd prefer not having to figure this out by trial and error.

 

Thank you!

    • runrob likes this
Photo
Omegon_Tassilo
Feb 11 2020 03:59 AM

There is no guide - this would not make sense, since the combination of possible cameras, lenses and the specific weight and the momentum applied to the LX2 due to the position of the center of gravity of that combination would be enormous. Just try once - this is not temperature sensitive, so you can try at home.

There is no guide - this would not make sense, since the combination of possible cameras, lenses and the specific weight and the momentum applied to the LX2 due to the position of the center of gravity of that combination would be enormous. Just try once - this is not temperature sensitive, so you can try at home.

Ok, but how do I figure out whether or not the mount is tracking accurately at home without doing a star test?

After doing a repositioning of the tension spring as shown in the video, I as able to do a first light night run with my Omegon LX MiniTracker.  It was 20F so this is only a quick 60 sec. individual exposure after doing a quick polar alignment using my modified Canon EOS40D.  Much better results than the way it was working before.

After doing a repositioning of the tension spring as shown in the video, I as able to do a first light night run with my Omegon LX MiniTracker.  It was 20F so this is only a quick 60 sec. individual exposure after doing a quick polar alignment using my modified Canon EOS40D.  Much better results than the way it was working before.  Thank you Omegon_Tassilo for the reference video link.

Photo
Omegon_Tassilo
Feb 13 2020 03:29 AM

Ok, but how do I figure out whether or not the mount is tracking accurately at home without doing a star test?

We are talking about the problem, that the Minitrack stops tracking. This can be tested at home. Any fine tuning has to be done under the stars. However the need for such a procedure strongly depends on your application. If you are doing widefield work, you may never need it. If you want to test the limits of the the Minitrack can do with 300mm, it is a must.

Photo
Cristian Fattinnanzi
Feb 17 2020 09:04 AM

There are many ways to test the speed of the Minitrack during its operation. The simplest in my opinion is to use the "TapTempo" app (for Android), which allows you to understand the frequency of the timer (by touching the green button at each "tick-tac" of the timer). Correct values are between 130 and 140 beats per minute. After a few nights spent using the Minitrack you will find that you will learn to judge by ear that the timer is working well, and you can adjust the spring to remedy and help the timer if needed. In case of still irregular operations, you can try the Minitrack even during the day and without any weight on it, if it does not run for 60 minutes without interruptions there is probably a problem in the timer. If you dismantle the timer (which is a single piece with the charge knob), be careful not to over tighten the small cross screw that locks the timer from below. Tightening too high can lead to timer malfunctions.

I just got a MiniTrack LX2, and the first night out I also noticed that the timer would stop running in the late stages of a run.  I think that my problem was coming from over tightening my ball head to the tracker head - it seems to run correctly when I don't overtighten it.  I'll take a look again today in daylight, but maybe this will help? 

Photo
Omegon_Tassilo
Feb 24 2020 10:53 AM

I just got a MiniTrack LX2, and the first night out I also noticed that the timer would stop running in the late stages of a run.  I think that my problem was coming from over tightening my ball head to the tracker head - it seems to run correctly when I don't overtighten it.  I'll take a look again today in daylight, but maybe this will help? 

Please contact us if this did not solve the problem.

Photo
project nightflight
Mar 10 2020 01:55 PM

In October 2019 we used the Mini Track LX2 to capture an image of the gegenschein from La Palma island:

 

projects013.jpg

 

 

This is the Mini Track LX2 setup we used:

 

Gegenschein Photo Setup
 
We recently published a making-of-story about the image and how we acquired it.
 
You can read the story online on the EarthSky website or download the original PDF from the project nightflight website.
 
May the starlink miss you
project nightflight
    • eros312 likes this


Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics