Jump to content

  •  

EQ Mounted Newtonians




Anttler's Optics 8" f/5 HPN Newtonian

Jul 25 2006 03:20 AM | Craig in EQ Mounted Newtonians

Repeat after me - No one telescope can do it all. Every scope is a balance of constraints and compromises

Read story →    -----

Celestron C150HD 6” F/6.6 Newtonian

Mar 29 2005 08:53 AM | Guest in EQ Mounted Newtonians

As far as the views go, they are very good but not excellent. Cool down time varies from about 15 mins. to 30 mins. They are as good as or better than is to be expected from the $400 - $500 price tag. There is some (but not distracting) coma on stars. Deep Sky Objects (DSO) are appropriate to the 6” aperture.

Read story →    -----

Tal M Newtonian

Mar 29 2005 07:35 AM | DanielR in EQ Mounted Newtonians

I had read a lot of good things about Tal scopes and decided to buy one just for fun. I selected a 80 mm f6.6 Newtonian that sells for $270CND ($169US). These scopes are made in Russia and unfortunately the one I received had suffered during its long trip.

Read story →    -----

Orion SkyView Pro 6LT

Mar 29 2005 07:21 AM | Guest in EQ Mounted Newtonians

Aiming the scope at Saturn and increasing the magnification to 267X using the included 9mm eyepiece and a 2X barlow, I was surprised that my polar alignment was pretty good and Saturn stayed within the FOV for quite a while. Centering Saturn was a breeze using the dual-axis drive

Read story →    -----

Orion Spaceprobe 130 EQ

Mar 29 2005 07:21 AM | Guest in EQ Mounted Newtonians

First, let me tell you that I have no connection whatsoever with Orion Binoculars, and Telescopes other than being a customer. Having gotten that out of the way, I will proceed with the review.

Read story →    ****-

Meade 16" Starfinder EQ Newtonian

Mar 29 2005 06:55 AM | Guest in EQ Mounted Newtonians

For the price, this is a lot of scope. Compare to the Parks model at $16,000 and it's not hard to go wrong. Plenty of opportunity to upgrade/reinforce these components. An ATM'ers delight, not much changed from the 80's when this was invented, and the price is right in that era too.

Read story →    -----

Orion 8" f/4.9 Reflector

Mar 28 2005 10:49 AM | Bill Grass in EQ Mounted Newtonians

I am a refractor lover. Here on the Cloudy Nights forums, people like me are generally called "slobbering refractor freaks" (SRFs). I've had refractors from 60mm on up to 5" in aperture over the years, the best of which has been my trusty little Orion 80mm ED refractor (which I also reviewed here on Cloudy Nights). But like all telescope owners, I eventually caught a bad case of aperture fever. The largest scope I've ever owned was an equatorial (EQ)-mounted Meade 10" reflector. I sold it in 2003 because I wanted something more portable, allowing me to set up and observe almost immediately. I ended up with an Orion 4" refractor, which was soon sold to fund the purchase of my beloved ED80. For over a year, the little ED80 had been my primary scope. Many other refractors came and went, but the ED80 remained. However, memories of that big Meade 10" kept coming back to me. I decided to go ahead and buy another moderately sized telescope that would complement my ED80.

Read story →    *****

A Beginners Review of the Meade LXD 55 10” UHTC Schmidt Newtonian

Mar 28 2005 10:36 AM | Guest in EQ Mounted Newtonians

Please be aware that I am relatively new to the hobby of astronomy so this review is not based on a comparison of a wide range of experiences. However I think my experience would be of interest to other, relatively inexperienced would be astronomy buffs.

Read story →    -----

Discovery 6" EQ

Mar 28 2005 10:21 AM | lds in EQ Mounted Newtonians

I’ve been an on/off observer for about 40 years. Currently I do my observing in the Southwest. Over the years I’ve owned mostly Newtonians, from 6” to 10” models. For nearly 20 years I used an 8” Dobsonian as my primary instrument.

Read story →    -----

Post Mortem of a Celestron Firstscope 114

Mar 28 2005 10:19 AM | DanielR in EQ Mounted Newtonians

This review, like many other reviews, is of a used telescope with unknown history. This particular example (shown in Figure 1) was purchased from a pawn shop sight-unseen and had previously suffered: there were scratches and dents on the optical tube, the optics were quite dirty, and some screws were missing. Consequently, this particular example may not be representative of this model.

Read story →    -----




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics