Jump to content

  •  

EQ Newtonians and Dobs



Orion 150mm OTA

Dec 15 2009 09:37 AM | admin in EQ Newtonians and Dobs

I wanted to see larger, brighter planets and deeper into space. After much searching, and the typical modest budget, I settled on the Orion 150mm optical tube assembly. I thought it would give me the biggest light gathering bang for my modest budget. And, it does...with a catch

Read story →    -----

GSO 200mm F/4 for Imaging

Jul 13 2007 02:12 AM | mikefulb in EQ Newtonians and Dobs

I have been looking for an imaging telescope with a medium focal length (800-1000mm) and a fast optical design.

Read story →    -----

Orion Starblast 4.5" Imaging Reflector

Jan 08 2007 09:58 AM | chapleau in EQ Newtonians and Dobs

A Forgiving OTA for the Struggling Newbie, the Orion StarBlast 4.5" Imaging Reflector

Read story →    -----

Baytronix 150mm Newtonian

Jul 06 2005 05:02 AM | Jon Isaacs in EQ Newtonians and Dobs

Baytronix 150mm Newtonian

Read story →    -----

Meade 8

Mar 23 2005 10:46 AM | admin in EQ Newtonians and Dobs

While other scopes in varying sizes and specifications have come and gone from my collection over the years, the above scopes are among five which have stayed, and these two have been the nucleus of my battery and in constant use for many years.

Read story →    -----

Orion Optics GX250 F/4.8 Newtonian

Mar 23 2005 10:45 AM | admin in EQ Newtonians and Dobs

I've been a "serious" amateur astronomer for 15 years and a member of the Norwich Astronomical Society (NAS) for most of that time. Finally I thought it was high time I bought myself a telescope. Being primarily a "faint fuzzy" observer I decided that a fast newtonian

Read story →    -----

Orion Skyquest XT4.5

Mar 23 2005 04:59 AM | admin in EQ Newtonians and Dobs

Throughout the night I viewed a number of deep sky objects that included M15, M31, M27, M56, M11, M 57, and the Double Cluster. Each view was crisp and clean. I also viewed a number for double stars that included Mizar, Nu Draconis, Almach, Eta Cassiopiea, and Gamma Delphinis.

Read story →    -----

GSO 8" f/4 Newtonian + Baader Coma Corrector

Mar 22 2005 03:35 PM | admin in EQ Newtonians and Dobs

Collimation in an f4 telescope is extremely critical, so I took my time to do it right immediately. I took out the mirror from it's cell and put a mark in the center to aid with collimation. During daytime, I aligned the secondary with the focuser, and the primary later on, all with a Cheshire eyepiece.

Read story →    -----

Starmaster 20", f4.3, Sky Commander & Sky Tracker Goto Drive

Mar 21 2005 01:15 PM | admin in EQ Newtonians and Dobs

Let me start by summarizing my view on the Starmaster 20" f4.3 Telescope with a 1.6" thick mirror and the Sky Commander with Sky Tracker goto drive: It is the ultimate portable large aperture telescope. It is not the minimum required, nor is it even necessary to enjoy astronomy, but it is the best blend of compromises that must be dealt with in selecting a large-aperture telescope.

Read story →    -----

Rat Notes - 18" Starmaster Review / Obs Report

Mar 21 2005 12:51 PM | admin in EQ Newtonians and Dobs

Anyway, things have been a little hectic, and I've been remiss in posting notes. I do plan to get back into it. Here are some long overdue notes, and a general review of the new 18" F4.3 Starmaster Dob. I am skipping over many observations for lack of time, but I'll try to do some more 'normal' reports real soon:

Read story →    -----




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics