•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Improvements for TENTO 20x60 bino

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 25 July 2004 - 02:40 PM

I bought myself a nice looking Russian secondhand TENTO bino 20x60 for only $40, -
The optics are surprisingly clear and sharp, but the bino is hard to use out of free hand. It needs practicing, or better a tripod, to hold it stable.
The only problem I experience is the focusing mechanism. This mechanism feels week and mostly asks two fingers to rotate the focus wheel. Does anyone know if this can be improved? I have no experience whit fixing bino's. I do have an older 10x50 bino whit *bleep* prisms but whit a smoothly running focus mechanism. Should it be possible to build this over? Or do I just have to live whit this minor failure?
Bonzo

#2 KennyJ

KennyJ

The British Flash

Posted 25 July 2004 - 03:07 PM

Bonzo,

Mechanical mediocrity is such a common problem with Russian binoculars that I'm surprised the cold war went on for so long :-)

I'm not optimistic that much can be done about these things unfortunately.

As you've noticed though , the good news is that the optics
themselves are very good , in fact I would say INCREDIBLY good for the money changing hands for these.

No amount of practice , weightlifting or nerve gas will ever
prepare you to or anyone else to hold 20 x 60s steady enough to get the best out of them.

You need a tripod / mount of some sort.

Clear skies , Kenny.

#3 lighttrap

lighttrap

Soyuz

Posted 25 July 2004 - 03:16 PM

Bonzo,