•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Identical Feckers on Ebay UK

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 ukcanuck

ukcanuck

Vendor (Skylight Telescopes)

• Vendors
  • topic starter

Posted 04 July 2007 - 02:59 AM

Here we go, :ohgeeze:
the serial numbers have been mentioned on this forum before, so I reported the first one on Monday...but it's still there. Now the exact same thing has been relisted, so now there are two identical fake listings.

#1: http://preview.tinyurl.com/2z57qg

&, #2: http://preview.tinyurl.com/yos64b

I'm not a computer expert by any stretch, but is it not possible to have automated ways of preventing examples of fraud as clear as these ones, other than Ebay's somewhat lackadasical we'll-get-to-it-later approach? Maybe some kind of screen to pick up the code from identical picture combinations?

At least nobody's bidding.

#2 trainsktg

trainsktg

Aurora

Posted 04 July 2007 - 03:51 AM

Good catch, but eBay isn't the only site where this happens. As a for instance, I think both of the following Astromart advertisements listings are legit, but notice the wording describing the Televue Pronto in both...

Here's the first ad that showed up, dated 6/30. Again, specifically pay attention to the wording describing the Televue:
http://www.astromart...ified_id=507816