•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Hello everyone - Lots of questions from a newbie.

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
76 replies to this topic

#1 Panza

Panza

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 September 2007 - 02:16 AM

Hello to everyone.
I have been reading a lot on this forum lately but eventually I had to register so that I could ask questions.
I am a real newbie to this. My background is a little wide-field astrophoto with my Canon Eos cameras on a tripod. I have also used a small refractor. I have now decided that I want to see and photograph more than what an SLR camera on a tripod can do. Then comes the questions. Initially I had my mind set on an 10" RCX400 but after reading a lot about it I figured it would be best to start with something a little more traditional: LX200R. Although the included heater and stuff on the RCX is surely nice, the main thing that scares me is the all-electronic focus and the return-to-Meade for repairs. That is not an option where I live. Let me know when I'm wrong in any assumptions I have made.
Then to the questions:
1. How do you mount the optical tube to the tripod on the LX200R ? Do you take the tube and fork off together or do you put the tube into the fork when the fork sits on the tripod ?
2. 12" or 10" ? I have read here that both a doable for set up for one person, but doable and easy is very different.
3. Reading about eyepieces I realized that it's not such a good idea to buy a set to start with due to the quality. Let's say I want three great eyepieces to start with: Which ones ?
4. What other accessories should I get ? I have already decided to get a wedge (Meade Ultrawedge?).
5. Do you need both a dewshield and a heater ?

Sigmund

#2 Ben Ritchie

Ben Ritchie

Lost in Space

Posted 27 September 2007 - 02:27 AM