•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Mallincam for LX200R

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
19 replies to this topic

#1 cold space

cold space

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 30 December 2007 - 07:19 AM

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on this great site. I have a LX200R 12 inch and will look at getting a Mallincam hyper color for viewing in semi-light polluted area. Can anyoe advise me on the best focul reducers to use with the meade scope as I have no experience in this field yet?. I have been told some reducers don't suit the 200R optics and some are very bulky?.Also would the Mallincam color do reasonbly well on planets/moon?.I have only found alot of posts where people are having alot of success using Newts or refractors but is there anyone having alot of success using this camera and the LX200R scope?Your imput will be appreciated.

Regards Matt.

#2 rshassell

rshassell

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 30 December 2007 - 09:31 AM

Welcome to the forums!

The most popular FR for use with the MHCP on SCTs is undoubtedly the MFR-4 that you can purchase as an accessory with your MallinCam. It replaces the 1-1/4" nosepiece of the camera, and short extensions are available to increase the FOV further. You can also use the Meade or Celestron f/6 and f3.3 Reducer/Correctors that screw onto the rear cell. Note that the f/3.3 unit can't achieve focus with a diagonal, so you may be prevented from aiming at certain targets, if the camera would hit the fork base. Finally, the Denkmeier Power X Switch diagonal will permit relatively quick and convenient changes between 3 different focal ratios.

And the camera works quite well on moon/planets.

#3 skyguy88

skyguy88

Ranger 4

Posted 30 December 2007 - 02:09 PM