•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Airy disk question on cheap refractor

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 September 2003 - 12:01 AM

Hi. I'm new to this forum. Hope I'm in the right place. As if I didn't have enough hobbies, I'm thinking about getting back into this one after a long lapse. Last night I checked the circular diffraction pattern on my el cheapo 600 power (haha) Tasco 60mm f15 refractor that I bought at Costco 12 years ago (using a Meade 12mm MA eyepiece). I'm new to interpreting such things so I downloaded a copy of the aberrator program for help. The "disk" I saw had a very significant football shape which I couldn't duplicate with the aberrator. The diffraction rings were visible but compressed due to the football shape. Anyone ever hear of this kind of aberation? Just curious. Maybe I should give Tasco an award?

I'm thinking that an Orion Observer 70mm EQ is in my near future. I haven't seen anything better for $159. Anyone want to talk me out of it? Please?

#2 Trever

Trever

Gemini

Posted 09 September 2003 - 02:36 AM