•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

The Endeavour

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
1044 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 October 2004 - 11:55 PM

OK guys, here goes:

I am relatively new to astronomy (coming up on year now), but in many ways it just feels like something I've always known I'd get into but just didn't have the time to do so previously. A question posed by the wife as to whether or not we should get a telescope for our son has turned into a mild obsession for me (and I never do anything half way). I'm at least happy to report that the 9 year old son enjoys the nights with the astronomy club as well - particularly when he can point the "red dot" at things and nail them in the sight!

But here's my challenge: The wife and her best friend have purchased a camper-trailer and intend to travel the western U.S. next summer with the four kids. The husbands (that would include me) are to join them for a couple of weeks, likely in the Grand Titons... so naturally, I'm thinking, "I have got to bring a scope."

At present, I have a home-built (purchased) 10" f6 dob, lots of plywood, lots of sonotube, very stable and very wonderful but also awfully heavy and not very transportable. No way this thing is getting to the Grand Titons. Now Jack (my son) likes building stuff goo, so I'm thinking, hey, why not build a truss dob? I bought this scope primarily for the quality of its mirror - I've got a 10" Zambuto here, and a growing collection of quality eypieces, so I'm thinking it's absolutely worth the effort.