•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron / Synta 100mm f5

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
4 replies to this topic

#1 Tom T

Tom T

A Father, A Teacher, A Pioneer

• In Memoriam
  • topic starter

Posted 02 October 2003 - 02:14 PM

Anybody used one of these? (note this is NOT the f6 Orion version) I'm thinking of picking one up as a travel scope, and would be interested in hearing your opinions. Found a sale on them for $180 new. It would mainly be low power wide field useage, with some side trips to the moon at 100x - 180x.

Interested in anything you can tell me.

Thanks

Tom T.

#2 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----

Posted 02 October 2003 - 02:22 PM

Tom,

Not owned one, just a beginner here. But this might help you:
http://www.scoperevi...m/page1j.html#5
it's the 4" f/5 skywatcher

Peppe

#3 Spyke

Spyke

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 02 October 2003 - 05:51 PM

Hi Tom.

Yes, I got one a few weeks back, and I'm pretty impressed with it. Mechanically it's quite impressive, though the focuser smoothness is improved with re-greasing. 2" focuser is nice to have. Finder and eyepieces are ok, but it performs a whole lot better once you put some branded plossls or better into it. The focuser is actually adjustable using two tiny screws to make sure that it is aligned properly within the draw-tube. I haven't need to adjust this yet, and it star tests well, with round images and no pinched optics evident.

Mine gives very nice wide field images, and I actually tested it side by side with an APM Triplet f6. The APM had a very flat field of view, but the Synta was only a tiny bit behind it in terms of field flatness! I would say it had 92-95% of the performance of the APM.