•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ETX-60 and AutoStar

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 dymy24

dymy24

Mariner 2

• topic starter

Posted 11 August 2008 - 12:00 PM

I hope to use my ETX-60 (494 handset) with the AutoStar suite that came with my Meade LPI.

I've installed the software onto my laptop, and reviewed the "manual" and quickstart guides for connecting the telescope to the computer.

It looks like I must use the provided network cable and provided serial adapter to connect the telescope base to the computer. Problem is, many newer computers do not have a serial port - my laptop included.

Am I reading the scant instructions wrong? If so, will a simple Serial/USB adapter correct the issue? If not, is there a work-around that a complete novice can accomplish?

#2 Kolenka

Kolenka

Apollo

Posted 11 August 2008 - 02:10 PM

Yes, a USB->Serial adapter will work. My laptops have been the same way for years, and it was all I needed to connect up to my ETX and LX200.

#3 dymy24

dymy24

Mariner 2

• topic starter

Posted 11 August 2008 - 02:30 PM

Thanks much. I'll pick up an adaptor from Radio Shack tonight, and give it a try in the living room. If it seems to work, I hope to get my first image of something moving tomorrow.

#4 Fish

Fish

Viking 1

Posted 12 August 2008 - 05:25 AM

Good morning,

Fair warning: if the PC you are using is running Windows Vista, your USB-Serial adapter may not work. I have yet to see one from any manufacturer that is certified to work with Vista.

Regards, Marc

#5 Kolenka

Kolenka

Apollo

Posted 12 August 2008 - 10:54 AM

There are a few that work with 32-bit Vista. Belkin, I-O Data, etc. 64-bit Vista is harder.