•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Are asrto-physics scopes worth the wait?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
13 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 October 2003 - 07:40 PM

As a professional photographer I have become interested in astrophotography and planetary observation; and decided on the 130mm starfire EDT. Is it worth the wait or is their another refractor of equal quality. I know the waiting list is long ( at least a year or may not even get one )and that all the accessories that I need will cost as much as and even more than the scope. It will give me time to learn the field; I am assuming astronomy has a long learning curve and wondering if I should buy a less expensive scope to learn the field first. Any suggestions are welcome. Also, is there too much light pollution in southeastern PA suburbs? Any help would be appreciated ( books and clubs welcome )

#2 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 October 2003 - 11:16 PM

It's like this, basically: you put your name on the list(s) and then forget it. Simply go on with your life, buy some other scope(s) and use them, enjoy them. Then one day you'll get The Notification (time to put half the money on the table). For me, that was nearly three years. Then another nine month wait for the scope to be finished and shipped (155 EDFS.)

Since I didn't sit around waiting, no time was lost. Was it worth it? You bet.

#3 Mike Sandy

Mike Sandy

Apollo

• -----

Posted 22 October 2003 - 01:04 AM