•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What are undercorrected optics?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 mikee

mikee

Apollo

• topic starter

Posted 11 January 2005 - 09:22 AM

Hi all -
I'm new to Cloudy Nights and wanted to thank everyone for all the great information that is available here especially for newbies like me. The insights have proved invaluable in helping me purchase a scope. I just ordered an Orion XT8 with a Shorty Plus barlow, variable polarizing filter and carrying case and am anxiously awaiting it - and hoping I didn't get too big a scope. It's been 25 years or since my interest in astronomy, fanned by photos in an old beat up astronomy textbook with beautiful plates from the Palomar observatory, was invaded by "life" and I feel ike a 9 year old again! In some ways I'm grateful I waited because having "mellowed" a bit, I don't have the desire to take on astrophotography as a newbie which is what I had my eye on as a young kid. I remember drooling over the Celestron catalogs thinking maybe I could somehow save up for a C-14 even though I was years away from having a job that could make the kind of money I would have needed - man I had no idea what I was thinking :p My 6th grade teacher at the time was Roger Tuthill's daughter which probably had some effect (if any of you remember his advertisments in the various magazines). haha..

Anyway, while researching countless reviews of the telescope one of the things I came across several times that I had never heard in my experience with telescopes was this: (quoted from a scopereviews.com review)
"This one has slightly undercorrected optics, not a big problem"