•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

TAL 100 RS

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
23 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 November 2003 - 07:15 PM

Hi I'm a total newbie to stargazing, infact I am so new that I still make the mistake of mixing up astronomy with astrology (Duh!!) :lol:

My question is this, I have seen a russian TAL 100RS (4" F10, fl 1000mm)refractor on a Synta EQ5 mount for £500. Is this a good scope for planets in my backyard with some light pollution?

I spent the last 2 weeks looking through websites and I think that the EQ5 is a good mount that I could re-use if I wanted to change the scope. I live in Scotland and my budget is limited because I am disabled, so is my choice of scope. Any advice?

Thanks

Jon

#2 Blair

Blair

Apollo

• -----

Posted 16 November 2003 - 07:20 PM

The scope is a better choice than the Chinese ones sold by Orion, Celestron and others. Sky and Telescope did a review on it a few months ago. It would be an excellent beginners scope.

#3 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 November 2003 - 07:28 PM

Thanks for the quick reply. I want to make a good choice from the outset. I had the use of a 60mm aspen trashy scope and I still managed to see saturn at 100 x. Very shaky but I was stunned that I managed to see it at all. So I love to see more detail and have a more stable mount that will be an investment for future scopes.

Jon

#4 Blair

Blair

Apollo

• -----

Posted 16 November 2003 - 07:42 PM

Sky and Telescope April 2003 (page 56)

Here is what they liked

*Excellent optical quality (for an Achromat)

*Rugged metal construction

*high quality 6X30 finder